Draw The Line.
Wednesday, Dec. 19, 2001 - 8:57 a.m..

There's an Aerosmith Tribute Band named Draw The Line, just like the album (and the song). There's another one named Rocks, just like the album. There's another one named Toys In The Attic, just like the album (and the song). There's only missing a tribute band named Get Your Wings, and there are the five first albums coming after the real Aerosmith (*general knowledge*: "Aerosmith", 1973; "Get Your Wings", 1974; "Toys In The Attics", 1974-'75; "Rocks", 1975; "Draw The Line", 1976).

From all of those, DTL has members that sort of look quite a lot like the real A. Smith members. Sort of. The singer is too fat, but he's got the lips. Anyway, my point is...I hope they don't spend their whole career ressembling their favorite band. Well, of course if I were a musician I'd like to cover their songs and do what they do, but I'd also like to have originality. These tributes bands even use Aerosmith's logo. Yeah, it's a nice community service from them but still....I want to see Aerosmith, not an Aerosmith tribute band, no matter how much they're alike. Truth is, there's a rumour that Aerosmith won't tour Europe again...ever. On January they're going to Japan. Pathetic, I won't get my brithday wish (yet again). Then who knows if they'll tour outside the US again. They always leave out South America and Spain, though as it's been said by everybody, that's where they're worshipped the most. If you listen to a bootleg from the US or Europe, and another one from Brazil or Argentina, the south american crowds are wilder. Anyway, it really shouldn't matter to me whether they tour or not, because I'm doomed. Unfortunately, it does. A lot.

___________________________________

Talk about drawing lines...last night I drew Calvin. He looks pretty good, not bad for someone who sucks at drawing. Hell, maybe I don't suck. I just have to find the right sketch. I've been thinking a lot about a little girl...but I don't think that's happening. I mean, Simeon.....is Simeon. I can't change him. I don't want to. I've been trying to come up with ideas for a strip but everytime I picture something, I can only see a rip-off of Calvin & Hobbes, or in the least, Susie Derkins, who happens to be also part of Calvin & Hobbes. The only thing I came up with is Dr. Seuss' The Grinch: the animated series. But I wrote it down on Simeon's book. What it is about, in words of B. Watterson: "is left to the reader's imagination, where it's sure to be more outrageous". Well, this is funny. I'm dying to draw but I don't know what. I'm also dying to see an UFO, but that'll be some other day. And since I have Simeon, I can wait for that. Don't worry Simeon, you won't wear a dress (*standing, happy ovation by Simeon*). On the other hand, you might like to wear a wig once in a while (*Simeon puts on an afro wig and claps*).

____________________________________

Does it suck to be me? Yes, it doesn't.

____________________________________

I walked the kids to school this morning. I thought how cool it is to be in a foreign country. Just the fact of being there makes you feel like the world is waiting for you to own it. I really don't like to walk the kids, because I get back alone...but once I'm walking alone I feel everything is so wide I can take the direction I want.

Yeah, ok, call it a sentiment of freedom. I know I'm kinda wasting my time here though, since I could get a job or go to high school, but I don't feel that's a complete loss. I'm afraid that this time will soon end and I'll have to get back to live in a square. Maybe it's because I was born there and I *think* I know everything about that place and I *believe* there's nothing outrageous there for me. Today I got the conclusion why I feel so thrilled about being here: this place is different, is strange, is new. Duh, I know that's quite obvious, I just never....found words to go with those feelings.

Today the kids have early dismissal, which means they'll be home these next weeks, which means I won't be alone, which means I'll be with them and therefore, I'll have to come up with something to keep 'em entertained. I'm taking the kids and Michelle (Rebeca's friend) to the school playground this afternoon. Good for them. As for me...it won't be good. It won't be bad either. I mean, I'm just taking them.

__________________________________

And yet another thing related to the sentence "draw the line".....uh, no, there's nothing else to draw, I'm outta here for today. Today's Norman's birthday, yesterday it was May's birthday....happy birthday, kids!!!! May was throwing a barbeque party or something. She invited me first, because I'm her best friend. BUT...you can't say that I'm a complete grown-up, because I'm not, so I'm still allowed to have fun with myself if I want to(*ahem*)....yeah, and Simeon. And Aerosmith. And me again. I could throw a party just for all-of-my-selves. But I'll just go and eat a chocolate bar that someone, unfortunately, left in the wrong place.

____________________________________

Heads I win, Tail you lose
to the nevermind....
Nowhere to draw the line.


prev / next