Last minute panic and being in love without losing the perspective.
Thursday, 06/10/04 - 10:17 pm.

- Mom: it finished...do I place it the other way around now?
- Me: no, mom. A CD has only one side.

I think that's the problem when you don't keep up with technology.

My friends and I finished overnight what we were supposed to do within two weeks. It was supposed to be about 25-30 pages long, but we ended up having 43. We were inspired, Irene said, but I think we were just freaked out.

And for the first time in my life, I had last minute panic. REAL last minute panic, the "I have to turn it in in 5 minutes and it's not even on paper" panic. We were supposed to turn in the research in the 5:30 class. It was 5:20 and we were still printing it in Irene's sister's office (her sister works at our university). Irene wanted to print it in some fancy paper, and we didn't print it before because we didn't have that fancy paper. So I went to class and left Irene and Victoria finishing it (hey, I, as usual, was the one who took all the meaningless scraps of each member of the group and gave it a coherent structure, along with neat punctuation and happy grammar). We turned it in at 6 o'clock and...to be continued, because if we make it to the top three works, we'll get to do an exposition. I'm not crazy about doing an exposition, but that'll mean we were good enough to be in the top three. And I'm a dork, so there.

And because I was running around, checking that everything was in order, I didn't get to be with Joseph a lot (I did, but not as usual). But after class he walked me to a coffeehouse, the one a block away, where my dad was. Let me tell you I am very, very in love with Joseph.

With all the previous girls (girlfriends, lovers), it was "I want to fuck her". With you, it's "I want to marry this girl".

I'm at this strange point in which I don't feel very inspired. But I feel like being inspired...you know, that craving I had a couple of months ago, of writing a book or something. I feel like being inspired, which leads me anywhere, haha, I'm a loser. I'm trying not to lose the perspective I had when I wasn't in love. I liked it, "I will do something worth my life", "I will follow the footprints of the psychologist I admire the most" (no, it's not Freud). I still have to talk about this with Joseph.

One thing I really love about our relationship is that we can talk about anything. We don't just have conversations, we have debates, sometimes very heated. But so far we've never fought. "Yeah, I understand your point of view, but...". But. We go on for hours. Until we realize we're talking about philosophical issues that depend on the point of the view of the person and that, ultimately, just can't be solved. So then we make out....or something. I mean, our relationship has a lot of dimensions, and I love that.

- Joseph: I touched the waitress' breast.
- Me: what?
- Joseph: I was putting on your backpack, and when I stretched my arm, she was walking by and I hit her on the breast. I said "sorry", but I just know she'll spit on my sandwich next time we come here.

I'm sorry, I really lost track of what I was talking about.

prev / next