Meet the parents.
Monday, 07/05/04 - 8:31 pm.

At 2:33 in the afternoon, Joseph showed up at my door and rang the bell. He'd shaved, which made her mother realize he's really in love. He looked weird, pale and skinnier than usual.

I did not introduce him to my parents until he was leaving. Why? I was nervous, and I thought they'd be the ones who'd come out and say hi. Yes, I know, my mistake. They wanted to have a conversation with him and all, and so I, as well put by Joseph, screwed it up. They talked a little before he left, though. It was awkward, AWKWARD, I tell you, but not as bad as I thought it would be. Next time he comes they'll talk more.

When he left my dad pointed out my mistake, and just gave me a little speech, about how important it is to know the partner, that they trusted me and I was old enough to make my own decisions (in a way that made me realize they really don't see me as an 11 year old, as I thought), so they were not going to interfere in any way.

My dad asked Joseph (odd, really odd to speak about an interaction between these two characters in my life) if he was studying. Joseph said not right now, he was working to save for the university. When my dad was talking to me afterwards, also pointed out that he seemed to be from "humble roots", and I think he liked that, he liked that Joseph didn't have a sports car and traveled by bus instead. My dad, such an amish boy. It doesn't matter if the person has a college degree or not, as long as his goals in life are clear, my dad said, refering partly to Joseph. I didn't expect that from him.

I guess I'm still assimilating the events of the day. When Joseph called and said: I'll be there in 20 minutes, I freaked out like never before in my life. It was something new for me, "hi, meet my parents, lover". It was uncomfortable. I didn't know what to expect. In a nutshell, though, my parents were very serious, but very respectful.

Long story short (too late), it wasn't so bad. I screwed it up, but aside from that small (HUGE) detail, it's all good. They'll talk to him next time. As for me, I am now under the difficult task of telling my siblings about Joseph. Funny, it'll be harder than telling my parents. I had not realized that.

I'm over yesterday's event. I have this voice that, after a couple of hours, tells me: "dude, let go". I had to, because there was nothing else for me to do.

I talked to Fer and Angel and they made me feel better. But I wasn't crying, like Fer thought, because I was "disappointed". "You must remember they're your parents, and nobody's perfect..". I wasn't crying because they weren't perfect. I was crying because I was HURT. Simple. But in the morning I avoided thinking about it, and I'm willing to forget about that for the rest of my life (well, it's written in this diary, duh, but by the time I read it again, there'll be no emotion left).

Ok, tomorrow is the long awaited arrival of my kids, my nephew and my niece, from Houston. It's going to be great, because it's just me and my parents picking them up at the airport, and then we'll go for lunch at their favorite restaurant. By the time I write my next entry, they'll be here.

I am unbelievable happy about that. I CAN'T WAIT, I CAN'T WAIT!!! Like, omg, or something.

prev / next