Driving and oh! dear! God! designing a book cover.
Tuesday, 08/10/04 - 9:30 pm.

I drove aimlessly with a lady, an instructor, this morning, for about an hour and a half. She's nice, and she says I've done very well. Perhaps next class I'll drive all the way to my university. It's a hard task, I've written down all the possible routes and all of them have a bad spot that could cause my death if I made a mistake behind the wheel. Driving is fun, but it depresses me. I just wish I was a good driver already. I'm scared I'll hit somebody.

I fear people driving cars.

My dad finished his fourth book yesterday. And he said to me this morning: I was thinking maybe you could do the cover for my book. "YES, YES, YES, YES!", I could've yelled, had I not been smiling so widely.

It's been ten hours since he asked me, and now I'm frowning widely, because I can't come up with anything. This is very important for my dad...and why not? for me too. I've read excerpts from his book, and I could swear this is the best one. I don't want to let him down. He's given me such responsability, which goes to show how much he trusts in me.

Everybody in my family has a gift for drawing, my family says. I don't doubt it, because I've seen my brothers' school notebooks and textbooks, and they're filled with funny drawings. I kind of have that gift too, but in general, I can't draw. Very little...say I have the talent of a three-year old. BUT I lack their imagination. And talent without imagination takes you nowhere. And then sometimes I have too much imagination and not enough talent to bring it to a concrete form outside my neurones. I can never win, I suck.

I'll get back to work now. Joseph gave me a lot of ideas (I don't think I've said this lately, but I'm seriously in love with that silly little boy), and one of them has mutated into something I do like...and actually doesn't require any drawing. I will win this time, so ha.

prev / next