Three months and four or five tangents. Or six.
Tuesday, 08/17/04 - 8:46 pm.

I finished my goddamned Simeon book this morning, after fighting against my own lack of inspiration for about three years. I'd started drawing in that notebook in 2001 (look, I even talk about it here), and now I finally pulled it off. It took me twenty minutes to read it in its entirety, and it wasn't so bad. I chuckled. And then I confined the notebook to my shoebox with the other 25 Simeon books, and sealed it.

"Goodbye, thanks for the memories", I said. And locked the box. I feel the Simeon cartoons are like my journals, and I kind of regret not having written a single one for three years, right during very important turning points of my life (high school, college, Beatles)...then again, around the time I stopped doing them, I got this diary, so it's definitely not a loss, just a change of format.

But before all that, I walked Frog, drove my dad home, and talked to Joseph on the phone. It's our third month anniversary today, and...well, I guess I should say a few words on this one. But I won't, because I'm like that. I'm just happy to have him in my life, and I'm happy he feels the same about me. The end, because I'm having one of those "sad" phases of mine...which aren't quite sad, really, I'd rather say something like quietly retrospective.

Today I saw the bag of Doritos in the kitchen: at the back it said something about 84 calories, which discouraged me, because I burn only 25 a day. I'm a cheap person, yes. But just for the record, that didn't stop me from eating one or five Doritos. See, the problem is not the calories, nor the weight. It's just the flaccidity (argh, I can't believe I said that!). Still, even if it's just a ten (ok, seven..hey, it's boring, considering I don't even have music to light up the situation) minute routine, I will keep it up, even if it takes me a year to toughen up...anyway, there's no rush.

Well...I could dedicate the rest of the entry to political opinions, like how much it pisses me off this whole dumb-president / war that's not ours / terrorist threat situation. But I won't, because I just feel like being still and quiet. So goodbye, or something.

prev / next