Raining on time, the cheapest reality show and two sad happenings.
Saturday, 09/11/04 - 9:43 pm.

Joseph is sick, and I told him not to go out today. The weather is lovely, cloudy and cold (at least until you remember there are homeless barefoot children). He had some sort of tournament today (cards) at 2:30 in the afternoon, but I insisted he should stay home.

It started to rain around 2 o'clock, and it was just starting to pour when the phone rang.

- Me: Hello?
- Joseph: I don't know how the fuck you made it, I don't know what you made it rain EXACTLY at this time.
- Me: I don't know, either...sorry?
- Joseph: my parents are laughing at me for that. Not with me, oh, no. I don't know how the fuck you did this.

I'd completely forgotten about his tournament and all. It's certainly a nice coincidence that it started to rain when he was about to leave home. I laughed. He was so cute, too, blaming me for that.

I was watching some kind of reality show produced here, about girls in a beauty pageant. Two, TWO are beginning this weekend, and both are about girls preparing themselves for a beauty pageant, and one of them is to choose the girl that'll go to Miss Universe. Hear me laugh at those shallow losers: Hahaha. HA!

Hi, I want to participate because I love this country and stuff. My goal is to take home the crown and show this is a great country. I'm sure that goal will get you far in life, knucklehead. Represent.

They showed a clip of the girls going to a beauty parlor, to get highlights and haircuts and make-overs. I thought that, for that matter, I could participate in that shit. Everybody could, because after all, even the ugliest girl can improve her image with some make-up and a nice hairdo. I really see no merit in winning in a beauty pageant if your beauty is fake and prefabricated.

And this is my dumb entry for today. I am thinking of a topic for my Freud essay (still) and my dad is driving me nuts because he isn't watching TV, he just changes from channel to channel and ends up watching nothing. GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT, GODDAMN IT!!! He's been chaning channel for 20 minutes, to the same seven channels, just catching glimpses of every movie but he isn't convinced by any. Damn him and his craving for a late night movie. It's almost pathological. He won't watch a movie just because Richard Gere stars in it (I once said he was a bad actor, and my dad has banned him ever since).

I heard today that a professor at my university is dying. He had lung cancer (chain smoker), but nobody knew. All of a sudden, he's in a terminal phase. My brother (who's in the psychology department) says they'll probably won't see him again, because doctors say he won't make it to the next year and he just doesn't want to be seen. The man used to greet me and joke about me and my brother...he was friends with my parents, too. He seemed very funny, and I'm so sorry.

His niece was a classmate of mine, but I haven't seen her this year at the university. I thought about her and I also remembered that she lost her mother last year, to cancer as well.

It's a sad, sad world.

Just for the record, I'm sorry about the Towers and everything it brough to the USA and the world.

prev / next