His backpack in my backpack.
Thursday, 09/ 23/04 - 10:05 pm.

Tonight when I got home, I had Joseph's backpack in my backpack. At the end of the last class, Angie had given it to me: the guy with glasses gave it to me, was all the explanation I got from her.

I looked around, and Joseph wasn't around. Fer said he wasn't in the cafeteria. I was going to ask him if he could take the backpack, but he's going abroad tomorrow, for the weekend. So I stuffed the backpack in my own (his is kind of small and mine is definitely big) and hurried to be picked up by my dad outside the campus, because I was late.

So like I said, I got home with his backpack in mine (hidden from all parental questioning), and I had an ugly feeling in my ribcage. He's never late when my class finishes, you know? Something must've happened to him. But also: he's ok. Pppffftt, he wouldn't leave me [read: die]. He just didn't notice he was late.

It was anguish, a cold hand holding my heart. I was sure he was ok, but then I wondered what was so wrong, that somebody else had his backapck and that nobody knew where he was.

But finally, at 8:45, I got a call from him, saying he'd call me at 9 sharp. In the meantime, I had a banana milk shake, that my mom lovingly made for me (of course she didn't know I was worried). And indeed, he called at 9.

I asked F to have my backpack for five minutes. I didn't take long at all, but when I came back he and *the guy with glasses* were gone. I figured, by the little time that'd passed, that they hadn't taken any bus yet.

I ran to take a bus myself, and to catch them up. I took my head out of the window all the way until I saw them. I jumped off the bus and ran to them. "*Guy with glasses*, give me my backpack". He said: "I gave it to Angie, and told her to give it to *me*
.

So Joseph borrowed ten cents he was missing for the bus fare, from F, and took a bus home, probably by the time Angie was handing me his backpack in the middle of class (she came in late).

I wanted to yell at him, "fucker, I was worried about you!" but he certainly wasn't at a picnic either.

Aside from that, today I studied for three hours straight, and that time wasn't enough to cover the entire material for saturday's midterm (it's all about Freud). I also met a beautiful girl, who seems to be missing something. Or someone. She makes me want to be her friend.

I've had enough for today. It's been swell, but not entirely. I still feel a little freaked out. Good night.

prev / next