Wedding and famous twin cousins, change of plans and parents going abroad.
Sunday, 10/03/04 - 9:11 pm.

The wedding was ok. I didn't like the priest, saying stupid things like he'd create an accident so the groom and the bride would die together when they were married. I didn't like the readings from the Bible, about the woman who'd be a loyal wife and mother and the man would be happy to have her as a partner. What about the man being a loyal husband and father? Vito Corleone says that you're not a good man unless you're a good father (something to that effect). And so on. Ugh, social-historical gender role, ugh. Damn the catholic religion for looking down on the woman.

And for making me look like a feminist.

I greeted my twin cousins (brothers of the groom). I am fascinated by them because they're twins, no more. They're also famous, though, one is a DJ (with a large fan club) and the other one is a model. I often see them modeling on the newspapers (one or both), or being interviewed, or on billboards. I can tell them apart now, because the one who's a model is sporting a tan and has gotten skinnier. But there's currently an ad about aids, that shows one of them holding a pregnant woman...it's all over the city, and there I've failed to tell which one of them is. They're quite cute, anyway.

I wish my mom'd had twins...me and another fetus, I mean.

Anyway, I wanted to see the both of them together. It was until that happened that I realized they weren't that identical anymore. At the reception I walked out with my nephew (because he wanted to go to a playground nearby). One of the twins, the model, was on the dance floor, dancing with his wife and daughter. I walked by him and he widely smiled at me. His (their) smile is beautiful, perfect, and I felt cool by association.

All in all, I was happy to be there. The groom, my cousin, said to me "thank you for coming" and "you look gorgeous!". Whooo, ego-booster. Although I was a little taken aback by his speech at the reception. He read a poem to his bride, and it was some kind of erotica...taken off the Bible, hardy har-har. She did the same for him afterwards. People chuckled, but I guess everybody got a little uneasy when he said something about the palm trees and her breasts. I could tell they were seriously in a rush, and wanted to have their honeymoon inmediately.

***

Today my plans were to go to the theatre with my sister and nephew and then go have lunch with the kid we're working with (for a project). I got an e-mail, though, the lunch had been called off because the kid's best friend couldn't make it, and the kid wouldn't go without his best friend. Ok, it was still the theatre at 11 am.

But my period arrived, and you know that event knocks me out. I spent all morning in pain, but luckily for me, my sister postponed the theatre thing, because my nephew was tired from last night. So I had until 2 o'clock to recover from the cramps.

I almost didn't make it, but everything turned out well. Nothing like I'd planned in the first place, but it's always great to have an unpredictable day. I loved the play (it was for children), too. It reminded me of the one I saw last year, when I fell in love with the frog prince and wished someone like him came along (and surprise, seven months later I met Joseph...who looks a lot like the prince).

***

My parents are going abroad tomorrow, to a country nearby. My mom is receiving an award from the Interamerican Society of Psychology, at its congress. My dad is going with her, so it'll be just me until thursday *throws confetti*. King size bed just for me.

Since I am a useless piece of crap behind the wheel, I'll depend on my sister and on my brother's girlfriend (my brother is the national representing of that society, so he's going, too), and even on my aunt for the ride to and from the university.

It's embarrasing for me to admit this, but I've never taken the bus. I always have my dad and his car, and he never lets me take the bus. I'm practically a bourgeois, right? I've never had any experience on taking the bus. I'm a bad citizen.

So I thought I could ask Joseph to come pick me up at my house and we could take the bus together (because he's full of street knowledge). My parents won't know (until they're back), and my sister and my brother's girlfriend won't say no. After all, my sister is all for emancipation (she always stood against my fater: she always traveled by bus). When I told her I'd like to take the bus she said it was all right, as long as I was with someone, because it was my first time, and you have to know all the tricks to survive as a pedestrian.

So I might dare to take the bus on tuesday or wednesday. I should.

That's how things are right now. Good night.

prev / next