Two movies with a heavy emotive load.
Thursday, 10/14/04 - 9:15 pm.

Time is what I don't have right now, hi. An essay and two midterms for next week, and two expositions tomorrow. Right now I'm working on the group's report, due tomorrow as well, about that kid we worked with. I hope I'll finish it tonight.

As usual, I'm the one who carries with all the last-minute responsability, although it's not like they haven't done a thing. They have, yes, but given I'm the Super Ego of the group, I put everything together and I make sure that every period and comma are where they should be, that the writing is coherent, and that it's written in third person, plural. Honestly? I do not trust them on that task. Some of them can't follow the simple methodology rule of citing the authors they are taking the material from. Lord! They give me the theory and there's not a single reference, and sometimes not even the bibliography. Not only does it make the grade drop, that's also theft. THEFT, I tell you. Jesus Christ.

Ok.

I didn't think Joseph would come to the university, but -yay- he did. Have I said lately that I LOVE him?

- Me: so what brings you here?
- Joseph: you. It's always you.

Today I watched two movies. Both were highly emotive, and so I have a knot at the back of my neck right now. Both were intense...one terror, the other real life.

Joseph and I went to the juice parlor, where Adam was just popping in a movie in his PS2. The movie was wrong turn. God. It was a heavy movie, loaded with carnage. Actually, it was good to keep you entertained, and glued to your seat wondering what was going to happen next. Joseph said: that guy's the pimp, he won't get killed...see? he's wearing a Rolex (and he didn't get killed). There were bets as to who'd die first and in the most horrible way. Dude, they can't die if they haven't fucked. It was funny.

Afterwards I saw a movie in one of my classes, it was called once were warriors. It was heavily emotive, but it wasn't Hollywoodesque. It was about violence in the family, the subordination of the woman to the man...there was a horrible scene in which the husband beat the crap out of his wife, and then raped her. They had five children, and the worst was that the oldest girl was raped by a friend of the father, and so she killed herself.

People were crying. I didn't, because I have to learn to deal with that, given one day I'll be in the position of having to treat someone who's gone through that. I was horrified, and you're just pissed off, you want to yell at the husband and shoot him, because he never changes his ways. I was upset, and I had a headache. It's a heavy movie, very impressive. Even the professor gave us a mini-therapy on how to deal with our feelings about that movie.

It wasn't really the violence. It was more the reaction from it. You see, people are used to violence on the media, but this movie wasn't about violence itself but about its consequences. It wasn't just that the girl killed herself "because of her family". It was because she was raped by a man, and yet her father made her give him a kiss whenever he was home. The man who raped her said to her during the penetration: your parents will punish you because you aroused me. Argh! I could slit his testicles with a butcher knife (he got what he deserved at the end of the movie, but still).

I gotta go back to work. In spite of my denial of my emotive state right now (because of those two movies), I'm quite alright. For some reason, I'm looking forward to my expositions...and I'm also looking forward to my brother's moving back in on saturday. And...*cough* I'll see Joe tomorrow. I mean, he'll teach me how to play and I love her.

prev / next