The music store and other happenings of the day.
Saturday, 10/16/04 - 10:33 pm.

This morning I went to a music store to get new strings for my guitars (the electric and acoustic one...YAY, Ihavetwoguitars). I walked in and a nice guy, not older than 23, took the guitars. I explained to him that I needed to buy strings, and that I couldn't set them up myself.

- Guy: so you play guitar, huh? For church?
- Me: no, just for myself.

I wanted to laugh. Me, learning to play guitar to go to church four times a week and praise God with songs? Not my thing. That comment gave me the impression that the few girls (if any) that walk into that music store are Jesus freaks. It wouldn't surprise me. My friend Victoria attended the guitar workshop with me last semester, because she wanted to play at the mass of her religious community. To each their own, as people say.

He asked me what type of music I liked. I said The Beatles, and I think that automatically made me win him and his fellow salesclerk over. We'll put on some Beatles, then. They had a record player, and I melted when I saw a vinyl version of the blue album. They played it, of course. It was great.

One guy was changing the strings of the acoustic, and the other the strings of the electric. And that's how we spent about an hour and something talking about music and instruments. Fellow Salesclerk mentioned that he was in a band. He's a Beatles freak, the first guy told me.

They even gave me tips on learning, and handed me the guitar to try the new strings. They showed me the first chords to eight days a week and light my fire. I played the and I love her solo. They were so nice, and know so much that even my dad took part in the conversation, asking them questions and commenting about the old days' music.

I must go to that music store once in a while. I wish I worked there, but I'm not sure if I'd be able to learn so much about instruments. The first guy said that when he started there he didn't know anything about guitars, but that when they hire you they give you a month to learn all the technical stuff. And you also learn from the customers...you learn something everyday.

That was the most significative part of my day. I went to a bookstore in the afternoon (my sister and nephew took me), and I bought an Asterix book. I saw so many books that I wanted to buy...as usual. And I finally found the four agreements, Joseph's favorite book (but I didn't have enough money to get it). They also had Lennon Legend, which I'll be buying next time I go there, without paying attention to the fact that it costs $40.

We ordered pizza at night, but we waited for almost two hours, and since the delivery guy never came (even though we called several times), we went out. And at the restaurant we had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated. This clearly wasn't a good night for us. At some time of the night, I thought it would be easier if we just didn't eat. I was in a rotten mood, I must admit. I could've been upset, like my family was, but I was just apathetic.

I had a busy day, but only in terms of entertainment. That'd be cool, because I went to a music store, to a bookstore and to a restaurant...but I have a strong sense of responsability, and the fact that I didn't work on any academical assignment today, having SO many, is bugging me to no end. That means I'm getting behind schedule, yay. I needed to work on my goddamned essay for next saturday.

My brother moved back in this afternoon. We're trying to reconstruct the family schedule, but everything's good. Even though it sucks that he broke up with his girlfriend (whom will be missed very much), it's good to have him here. He's in a good mood, happy to be done with the whole conflict, and ready for the next step.

I don't have anything clever to say to finish the entry. Good night, or something.

prev / next