I'll wait a week. Meanwhile, I'll listen to Pink Floyd.
Wednesday, 10/20/04 - 10:02 am.

I'm ambivalent on this wallet thing. I like to think someone nice will find it and will give it back to me. Probably I'll find it after I've gotten through the expensive, disgusting, long-ass process of getting new personal documents (license, ID, university ID).

I asked in several offices at my university today, no one had seen it. Could it be possible that no one has found it? However, I looked at Victoria's ID, and I realized it doesn't really have a phone number...but there are many ways to return a wallet. Unless who found it just took the money and threw the wallet away.

Christine says I should stay positive. Victoria says the same. They both lost and found their wallets in the most unlikely places. I want to be positive, but I don't think that'd last more than a week...I can't really wait more than that (for instance, I need my ID to publish my book). I don't know what to think. Not that it'd matter what I think, because it's lost and that is all, but I guess I should start thinking of getting my documents again.

Joseph doesn't say a thing, except that he's sorry and that at least Frog isn't dead (huh). He recalled one wallet he lost, that contained the pictures of all his past girlfriends: I'd take out the long strip and go: "this one broke up with me, this one broke up with me, this one broke up with me, this one, I broke up with h...no, she broke up with me, too.... He cheered me up last night, over the phone. He's so funny, I love him so much.

I had a midterm today. That's all I have to say about that.

But here's the happy moment of my day, which made me not care about losing my wallet (even though it doesn't have anything to do with wallets).

I had my guitar lesson this morning, so my dad dropped me off at the university early. I sat on the grass, reading Fromm (yay, Fromm!) to pass time until it was 11:30, the time of my class. Where I sat, I found a pair of earrings under the tree, looks like someone had dropped them. THAT'S what I get in return of my wallet?, I asked to no one in particular.

So I sat under that tree (after taking the earrings, duh) and began to read Fromm. I calculated that if no one interrupted me, I could finish his essay right on time for the class. But surprise, someone interrupted me. It was an old friend from school, and we talked for a couple of minutes. It was nice seeing him, so I wasn't really mad...I didn't consider it an interruption. He went away, and I continued with my reading.

I heard footsteps (soft ones, on grass) approaching again. I looked at the sneakers, and my eyes continued looking up 'til they met the face. To my surprise, it was the only one person I NEVER thought would approach to me: Joe, my guitar instructor.

He looked at my huge book, and asked me what I was majoring in. We started a little conversation and he even sat on the grass next to me. I've noticed you like the music I like, and that's...good. So we talked a lot about The Beatles. The first album we both got was 1. We talked about the movies, and the White Album. It was so very nice.

I brought you something, he said. He took out a CD, and I was a little embarrased to admit I didn't know who those songs belonged to. It's Pink Floyd, he explained. And it crossed my mind that he'd thought of me, enough to bring me a CD of a band he likes. That meant a lot.

You ARE going to [guitar] class today, right?, he asked. I said of course. It was almost 11:30 am, so we both got up and headed to the guitar room, talking about "good music" (Beatles, Pink Floyd, Queen, blues, jazz) and "bad music" (everything on Mtv, especially rap). The class started, it wasn't anything particularly interesting. But at the end of it, he stood in front of me and said: listen to it, ok?...the first song is my favorite. I said I'd bring him a CD I like (Aerosmith's Honkin' On Bobo, since he likes blues, although that's not "pure" blues). I like it how he always shows interest in me, and in my tastes in music. I'd always wanted to find someone like him, someone I could talk about The Beatles with.

I walked out of the guitar room, and I said hi to my previous instructor (who's the director of the "culture" aspect of the university, or something). I also smiled to a bass player, the best bass player around. He's stunningly cute, allow me to add. They both love The Beatles. Joe said that they'll be playing next week at a restaurant, Around 40 Beatles songs. I'd love to be there, but I have a midterm.

So Joe was probably the highlight of my day (have in mind that I am in love with Joseph). I never thought he'd care about me enough to approach and sit next to me, let alone to give me a CD.

...Wallet, what wallet?

prev / next