Like Yoko Ono, sitting on a stool.
Wednesday, 10/27/04 - 9:56 pm.

It was 8:30 am and I was already at the university. My brother gave me a ride, because my dad had to take my mom to the hospital (she's a little sick), and he'd have had to leave her there to come give me a ride. That would've been very selfish of me.

So I took my big fat psychodinamics book, to kill time (actually, to take advantage of my time). And guess who came to say hi? You'd never guess: it was The Guy. He's studying english there. I looked at him and I thought "how could I ever fall for him?". He isn't really good-looking. He was kind of freaking me out, because he was standing too close in front of me. Because it was ok. Another issue I've moved on from (a week ago, I saw D., and it was nice, too...nicer than this encounter, asamatteroffact).

I read from 8:30 'til 11:15. I was reading Melanie Klein, who turned out to be a little bit of a dissapointment. But she's ok. A troop of dumb students took over my table, and they were very loud and didn't even ask if they could sit. They were very disrespectul about that, and they never took in consideration that I was there first, studying. Not laughing and eating and gossiping. But I did not move, out of spite.

I did leave when it was time for me to go to my guitar lesson. I went to the restroom and I felt some thing in my stomach, perhaps because I was going to see Joe. But aside from that, I realized that I really didn't want feel like going today.

Well, aparently my wish came true. I arrived to the place and the guy in charge of all things music in the university (who was my instructor last semester) came up to me: didn't Joe tell you that there'd be no class today? Is it ok to put it off until, say, next monday? (I said it was ok) We have to rehearse for the [Beatles] performance on friday...but you can stay around and listen to the rehearsal. Even though I was mad (because I was in the university so early just for that class), I felt special, for being invited to hear them rehearse.

Joe was arriving at that time, and he approached to me to said what I already knew. But don't get mad and skip the class on friday, ok?. I promised I wouldn't, and walked away, not really knowing what to do for an hour (I was fed up with reading). So I sat under a tree and I looked around. After all, it was a beatiful day.

About 20 minutes later, the mister in charge...ok, let's call him JC. JC walked by and yelled: hey, won't you come to see the rehearsal?. I said I would. You see, I didn't want to, really. All those talented people playing The Beatles while I just sat around (enjoying the music, of course) like a...like...like Yoko Ono.

But I went into the guitar room in the end. Their lead singer hadn't showed up yet, so they were only playing riffs and rehearsing begginings. JC talked to me for a while, and I showed him a Beatles book I was carrying (Irene and I are making a magazine and we'll use a beatiful Paul and Linda picture). Of course, all of the musicians in that room at that time loved The Beatles, so they showed interest. One of them even knew the name of the drummer that once replaced Ringo.

Moving on...Joe was there, of course. He was on a corner, sitting on a stool, playing the electric guitar. He said they'd play Dear Prudence for me, which was..."aaaww", or something. But they only played the intro, because they had a lot of other riffs to rehearse.

Indeed, I was pulling a Yoko Ono, because I did nothing than sit on a stool, in front of a microphone, and listen. Which was kind of embarrasing for me, which didn't let me enjoy it in its entirety (they do sound really good, though). I kept looking at Joe's fingers (not at Joe, really) moving fast, and playing the songs I knew by heart. I wondered if I could ever be as good as he was (Joseph always says I can do anything I want if I put myself into it...so I should really quit the university, stop writing lame entries and go plug my electric guitar).

When the lead singer arrived, I got up and left (I said goodbye to everybody, of course). She's leaving because we suck one of the musicians said. But I actually left because I remembered I had a boyfriend I had to meet up with.

I have to admit, though, I wanted to stay in that room.

The rest of the day is unimportant. Joseph and I went out for lunch, but lately I feel our conversations are not like they used to be. I think we used to talk more, and there'd be days in which we wouldn't need any physical contact. I love him, I do. It's just that we don't see each other a lot anymore (I could drive to visit him, but visiting him means to him I'm saying "yes, let's get laid", and I don't feel like doing that), and when we do, he wants to make out and such.

Today I met a classmate who loves the Beatles. Victoria was seeing the book (it's just pictures) and I heard a voice behind me saying goddamn. It was a nice guy, who looks like he's from the USA (he isn't, though). I love The Beatles, they're my favorite band. "Mine too!", I said gladly. But we didn't talk a lot, because the professor walked in right then. It's a shame, he wanted to take a look at the book. Maybe next time.

Oh, no. I have so many assigments to work on.

I have a midterm on friday. And I think I'll attend the Beatles tribute...my sister and my nephew want to go, and my brother said tonight let's go. It'll be nice, but still kind of embarrasses me, being some sort of groupie Yoko Ono.

prev / next