Bad morning, less bad afternoon and people to look after.
Monday, 01/03/05 - 9:35 pm.

Finally, a chance to update. I wish I could've done it earlier, when I really needed to get things off my chest, but it probably wouldn't have been very healthy for me. And probably right now I'd be regretting things I;d have said.

We went to Denny's this morning, my brother, nephew, niece, parents and I. It was agreed that we'd only go if we got up at 8:30. I woke up at 8, but figured the kids wouldn't make it, so I slept in until 8:30. When I walked out of the shower, my niece told me that if we all (the three kids and I) were ready in 15 minutes, we still would make it.

We all went, except for my nephew Renan, who decided he wouldn't go without showering. I felt sorry at first, I didn't want to leave him home alone. But he seemed ok with it, and we brought him some pancakes and bacon.

I learned it was my niece who called my brother (his dad) in the morning, telling him we really wanted to go. He'd just left the house and was in the hotel picking up my parents to take them there. He came back for us (that's when he said we had 15 minutes), and I kind of wish he hadn't. Not for me, it's just because he'd already said he wouldn't take us if we were ready, and he did. It's just that it spoils my niece a little more, she always gets what she wants (and so, when she doesn't, she gets mad for not getting her way).

The rest of the morning after breakfast went downhill. As usual, my nephew and niece found something stupid to fight about...ok, maybe it's not stupid. It's normal conflicts between siblings, but the thing is that one's abusive, the other's whiney, and they take turns being both, but also both are extremely rude in every state.

Long story short, I tried to handle the conflict when it got out of control (notice how I'm avoiding being specific, because then I'd start to remember everything and I'd get mad again), when physical rudeness made its appearance. Then I went to sleep for an hour and a half, which is the easiest way to escape from ugly situations, and much more cheaper than alcohol. Honestly, those kids depress me sometimes.

The afternoon was a bit smoother, they kids were eventually in a better mood. Yeah, it's sad how here my mood depends on the mood of two preteens. In their defense, though, they're awfully charming when they're in a good mood, it's lovely to be around them, and you can have smart conversations...like me nephew telling me about the latin root of the word "post", and wondering if it relates to postman and why mailmen were called postmen. Such stuff.

We decided to go to the bird sanctuary after lunch (I haven't seen birds, though, just squirrels). I packed snacks, I grabbed my camera and off we went, the three kids, my mom and I. Dad didn't want to go, he's lazy like that.

I insisted, dad, come with us, because this house can make you feel depressed if you stay too long in it. It's come to my attention that there are not enough windows, to begin with. And then add the fact that my dad can't speak english, let alone understand it, so watching TV is impossible except for one latinamerican channel which programation consists of gossips and soap operas. Ugh.

Now the kids are asleep, because they go back to school tomorrow...I'm kind of looking forward to it, that allows me to have more time for other stuff. Denise, my sister in law, gives me tasks, which both keeps me entertained and let me help in the household. I also feel like writing, a lot. So I could use some spare time without kids being loud, from either playing or fighting.

I still have to look after my 8 year-old nephew, because he's here with me (we should've sent him to school, he could use some english lessons) but he's charming, too, with the special feature that he rarely gets mad.

My parents left the hotel and are living here. They leave on the 10th, and until then they'll be around, mom always in the kitchen, dad watching TV or reading. I love them, but it's kind of a bummer. One of the highlights of coming to Houston, or just going abroad for that matter, is that I'm away from my parents, and that allows me to be more responsable and independent. I'm on my own, I mean, and so I have to do things that I normally don't do at home.

I really want to learn to cook.

That is all.

prev / next