Lunch at Randall's and nice ladies.
Thursday, 01/06/05 - 7:08 pm.

Be careful what you wish for, is what people are always saying. I was careful indeed, wishing yesterday for the hot weather to go away. So this morning I woke up shivering. It was really cold. But obviously I'm not naive enough to believe I got my wish. It was just the natural curse of the revenge of the chain letter elves, angry at me because I do not forward dumb e-mails.

The lady who cleans this house comes every thursday, and just not to be an obstacle, my parents and I decided to go spend the morning at the quasi-mall nearby (across the highway). Suddenly, with such weather, I didn't like the idea, and I said let's just stay home, we won't bother the lady (who happens to be from El Salvador, too...sadly, she fits a physical estereotype I've seen in one movie and in one sitcom. I like her, though, she's very nice).

We ended up going out for lunch, my parents, my little nephew and I. We went to Randall's, a super supermarket in that quasi-mall. I'd never noticed there was this little restaurant inside. I actually only notice the muffins and the cheesecakes and the like when I'm in that zone. I'm an obese at heart.

It was somewhat annoying to order, because I was the only one who could speak english...and you know, I'm not that good at understanding every single word. Besides, my dad kept asking what was this and that, and so was my mom, and so was my nephew. The first two orders were made to go, God knows what I misunderstood. But the other two were ordered correctly, in plates.

I can't get used to this beverage refill thing, poor girl from a ranch in the 3rd world prairie...no, actually, we have that system, too, I just don't go to the places that have it, because I don't care for refill. Refill's not made for me, I always have trouble finishing the beverages.

So, well, I was saying...the refill. Next thursday I'll buy the small cup, for my nephew and I (yes, we already made plans), to refill it every time we want. Why do they sell large sizes if people can refill, anyway? Oh, right, so they won't be getting up to go get more. Lazy people is too much sometimes.

Moving on.

We bought a few things after lunch, like batteries for my nephew's gameboy. I was going to avoid that, but there was that voice in me: "aaww, he's just a kid on vacation...soon he'll go back to school and will be so stressed, let him have fun now". I also saw him handling a pack of gum, and when I called him he put it back. Again, the voice, so I told him and bring that thing, too. It doesn't take too much to make a child happy, does it?

The cashier was a nice lady, who told me her son would kill me for my Nightmare Before Christmas hood. To my own surprise, we started a little conversation, she asked me how old I was and she told me her son was 16. I like it how people here are very open and friendly. I was also proud of my english-speaking, I had no problem whatsoever. I did fail at giving her the right phone number (of this house) for a discount, but she smiled and let it pass up. I wonder if she'll tell her son about me when she gets home.

We walked around for a little while and came back home, when the lady who was cleaning the house was finishing cleaning the house (my mom bought her muffins and oranges).

The rest of the afternoon I dedicated it to finishing in the time of the butterflies. It ran short at times, and it disappointed me a little, but it was definitely a very informative, touching read.

The kids were in a good mood today, I can't complain. I played basketball with my nephew and niece, before the former left for basketball class. He's so good at it. He's very good at what he does, namely playing violin, reading, swimming and playing basketball (to mention a few activities that stand out in his schedule).

My only disappointment right now is actually my second nephew. I'm always telling him not to be in front of monitors too often for too long (Nintendo, computer, TV, Gameboy), and today we'd made a deal about that. He broke it, so I told him I wouldn't allow him to watch a TV show. He got sad, but only said "alright". He's always like that, very obedient. That moved me, so I said he could, if he didn't touch any monitor until the TV show came on. He did. It's kind of stupid, but that hurt me.

I must go have dinner. Farewell.

prev / next