Out all afternoon.
Thursday, 01/13/05 - 6:20 pm.

Whenever I have to leave the house to fulfill tasks (walking of course), that exact day, the temperature drops and I have to face cold wind and sometimes rain.

Today my nephew and I had scheduled to go to Randall's for lunch, and just last night it started to rain and the temperature dropped. Luckily, it wasn't raining in the morning and since the sun came out, the cold wind was bearable without a jacket.

So as planned, by noon, my nephew and I crossed the highway and went to Randall's. Last night I went to Barnes & Noble (my brother had to go), so I didn't go today. I got two postcards and a mini wooden man. He's cute, and I'm thinking of getting another one, to have the wooden couple. I also got a Puss in Boots doll, for Joseph. I wasn't going to get him anything else, but I couldn't resist. He loves that cat.

Back to Randall's: we walked around getting some things (chocolate syrup, milk, noodles, french fries) and then we had lunch there. A polite old man read my shirt, my imaginary friend thinks you have mental problems and he chuckled. He seemed to be a cool grandpa.

As fas as I could perceive, there were nothing but seniors shopping at that time of the day. That's pretty obvious, considering all kids have to be at school. I must have looked like a single teen mom, pushing a cart, reading the nutrition information on the back of the boxes, dragging an 8 year-old all around the store. We had fun, though.

I had to pay for everything with my own money, too. My brother borrowed $60 from me last night (to pay the lady who comes to clean the house) but I still had $100 that my dad left for me. $50 for my birthday, $50 for miscellaneous purchases. I spent the money for my Aerosmith DVD on lunch (the bills I'd marked for that, I mean, I'm a dork). Altogether I must've spent around $29. It kind of hurts, seeing the money flow out of my pocket, but I wasn't going to be a rat and tell my brother "give me money to buy the milk for the house". And even though I still have three items on my wishlist (the DVD, a Beatles CD and a wooden model) I believe I'll manage to have some money left to take back home and put in the back.

It was kind of hard coming back home carrying the bags. When we came back the lady was still cleaning so I took the dog for a walk and left the kid playing Mario Karts. When I came back the lady was gone.

I was supposed to pick up my niece at 4, at her school. I took my nephew to the school playground, but when I showed up at the entrance at 4 and three minutes or so, she wasn't there.

As I initially supposed, she forgot I was picking her up and since she got out a little earlier (5 minutes at the most) she just went home. At 4:15 I told my nephew to go back home. Sure enough, she was coming from home, to look for us.

All in all, it was great being out almost the entire afternoon, walking and walking. That's what a change of enviroment is really about. On my past visits, I used to spend too much time inside the house, and hell, that's what I do at home. It was about time I got out and did some things on my own. Shopping for groceries isn't that easy, especially if you're shopping kids.

Ugh, dinner time. And annoying childish fights, as I can hear from the other room. I think my niece just had a panic attack because "everybody always interrupts" her and never let her finish what she's saying (my sister in law thinks she's too stressed because she's choosing middle schools and such). I foresee yet another teen LiveJournalist that talks about her panic attacks.

To be honest, this is the hour of the day I dread the most. When the kids come home and are all moody and touchy. That's what ruins my day.

prev / next