The fun, back-breaking last day in Houston.
Saturday, 01/29/05 - 11:55 pm.

This is my last entry from Houston, after a day full of motion. I didn't even have the time to think about my departure tomorrow. I wish I wouldn't start right now.

When I woke up it was like any normal weekday, because it was only my 8 year-old nephew and I home. My sister in law and the two kids were out, and didn't come back until almost 11. My niece had a basketball game and my nephew had some choir rehearsal. My sister in law was just driving them around. Which could in fact take the entire morning.

What made this day even more enjoyable was the mood of my nephew and my niece. Aside from a few frowns, they were very nice the whole day. There were no arguments over lunch, and no arguments at the mall, where we headed after lunch.

My niece and I went into Hot Topic, and it's safe to say I've created a monster. She wears a black hood, like me ("borrowed" it from her mom) and bought a black wristband with a pink star. In addition, she wanted to get a Rolling Stones t-shirt. The "tongue" shirt like the one I bought today (I already had one, but it's all worn out).

We were going ice skating, but my nephew had a basketball game at 5, so we decided to go skating at night. It was kind of expensive, though, so we were going to be there for two hours, from 8 to 10. By the way, my nephew is getting better at basketball for sure.

On our way back home, my nephew's team lost, we stopped by a store to buy some food, including a cheesecake. We came home to eat, ready to take off later.

The night almost turned into a disaster, when my niece's annoying "friend" included herself AND a friend of hers on our plans. I wasn't happy at all, I hate that lame little girl. My niece had told her it was a family thing, but she ignored that. Ugh, she's gross. But in the end we got rid of her and her friend.

And finally, we were ice-skating. First I went again to Hot Topic, to buy two Invader Zim pins, one for me, and one for my niece (see? a monster!). We started ice-skating at 9, one hour later than planned. I did it for an hour or so until I fell on my spine.

That's been one of the most horrible things I've gone through, even though it lasted a few seconds. I slipped (just when I thought I was grasping the whole concept of ice-skating) and fell not on my butt but on that spot where the spine ends. I fell hard, and for a second I thought I wasn't going to be able to get up and walk. I couldn't feel anything from the waist down. My sister in law came quickly and helped me up, but I was vanishing. I thought I was going to pass out, nothing like that had ever happened to me. Everything was blurry and white and suddenly I wanted to throw up. I did, there was a big trash can nearby.

That's my day, in a nutshell. I'm in terrible pain, I can barely walk or sit, and I'm starting to fall back into reality: I'm leaving tomorrow. I have yet to pack my bags.

Maybe tomorrow night or monday morning I'll write a long entry telling how depressed I am because I'm back home. How on sunday morning we went to finish our shopping and have breakfast. How our drive to the airport was full of casual chitchat, heartfelt laughs and forced smiles. How I cried when I hugged and kissed my nephew and niece and sister in law goodbye, thanking them for everything. How I panicked on the plane and started to sweat when I thought we were going down, and how fight club kept me entertained (my copy arrived today in the mail, along with Lennon Legend). How my family was waiting for me at the airport, taking for granted that I'm happy to be back. How my only comfort is my dog, Frog, and the posters on my wall. That's gonna be my day tomorrow.

If anything, I got to drive my brother's car tonight. I just parked it in the garage, but that's something. What an odd car.

I guess it's no use talking about how I really feel. I don't want to leave, period.

Until next time, Houston.

prev / next