It was kind of like some sort of first date and stuff, or something.
Tuesday, 02/15/05 - 3:54 pm.

I just came home from my date with Joseph. It was one of the coolest times I've ever had. I'd never seen him anywhere outside the campus (except for the time I went to his house for like 3 minutes), so just being there was a breath of fresh air in the relationship. And he had this cool t-shirt that said, my government failed me, and all I got was this lousy t-shirt.

First thing we did after meeting up (aside from the kissing stuff *cough*) was go to the store he works at. He's got my darn dream job. It's this store for collectors, with all kinds of action figures. He introduced me to his two bosses and two of his coworkers. They're all very nice and fun.

We walked around the mall, I wanted to see toys (my brother Alan used to take me to that mall in december, so he'd see what I'd like for christmas). And after that he bought me a cup of coffee and we sat to talk. About nothing, really, just catching up. I feel so good when I'm with him. It just feels perfect.

On my way here, on the bus, I was trying to remember why I love you so much, and when I walked in and saw you doodling, I started to drool and said, "oh, yeah, I remember".

For a moment during our conversation, I thought of Joe. In half a second I recalled that last night, before I went to bed, I was thinking that he kind of drives me wild. BUT...I don't think I'd get to have half of what I have with Joseph. Joseph is this...hyperactive guy with mercury in his veins instead of blood, that can be five different personalities in one minute. So yeah, I'm probably in love with Joe. But Joseph, I don't think I'd be capable of leaving him. He's too fucking special.

Inside the mall there's this sort of (very small) mansion, and the terrace is on the third floor, right in front of Joseph's work. On that terrace, there's a coffee stand. That's where we had the cup of coffee. So it's really cool, he has this job in an action figure store, with a coffee stand in front of it, and a food court, a DDR machine and a music store around the corner. So he's a do-it-all there, but that's what jobs are about. It's the coolest job I've ever seen, and I'd probably apply for something myself if I hadn't already applied as an instructor at the university (social work, not with a salary).

Today he was getting paid. He was going to get about $48, but with discounts and some stuff he did, it came down to $12. Later on he was talking to his two coworkers and me, telling some gay story, and right when he made some gay gesture and went "and I'm the gal" two guys walked into the store. It was funny. He's got this gift for making everybody laugh. Except children. Apparently he scares children.

He showed me the Beatles action figures, and he's going to get them for me (I may help, so that I can have all four). The employees can play the music they want, and he has the Beatles CD I once gave him. "Play your song", his coworker said. Ah, yes, track four, Joseph replied, and A Hard Day's Night came on. It's his song, because of the line "I've been working like a dog".

The first day I brought this CD to work, we sold like crazy. The [Beatles] action figures had just arrived. I had the CD on, and this music has something that makes you nod along to the rhythm. So I'm shaking my head and this guy walks in doing the same, and starts to tell me what a huge Beatles fan he is. He goes "I'd like to buy them, but my wife is going to kill me". I said, pay for them with your credit card, so she'll kill you at the end of the month. He took all four. And then many more people came in, and we nearly sold them all, and all the time everybody, including myself, was nodding the head to the beat. I thought, what is up with that music?.

See, how could I not love this boy?

Now I'm longing to see him again. His birthday is on monday 28th (exactly two weeks after Joe's, which was yesterday). I'm already making plans, but if it were up to me -meaning I had my own car and dared to drive it-, I'd go to see him everyday. But, I wouldn't work if you were there, you're my priority, and see, it doesn't seem like he needs another reason to lose any more of his salary. But he doesn't really mind. He's very carefree, especially with money.

You know in the movies, how suddenly the couple goes to a mall and to show you how their trip went a song from the motion picture soundtrack comes on along with random scenes, one being them making out while they're on the electrical stairs? Yeah, I've never seen that thing either, but that kind of happened. Only there was no background music.

A few days ago I was confused, thinking I needed some alone time, because of what he'd said and what I thought he meant, and because I have feelings for somebody else. Then I said to myself, I'll know if I'm still in love with him when I see him. And so I saw him. And I knew.

prev / next