THE puzzle.
Monday, 01/21/02 - 10:17 pm.

Carmen came over today. She gave me chocolates.

Veronica came over on saturday. She gave me chocolates, too.

Carmen and Veronica both gave me chocolates.

They're unaware that one another gave me the same thing.

One by one, they're not that bad. But together, it's all lame.

I have to go to bed early. It's almost tuesday. Therefore, it's almost wednesday. Then, it'll be thursday, and off I'll go to that place everybody calls "Externado".

Whoo-hoo, I'm a day pupil.

What's something you compare to a puzzle? You've got the pieces, all spread accros the floor. You begin by placing the borders and you work it out, little by little. And as you start finding your way out, you understand some more about what the puzzle is about. Detail by detail, you're getting a larger picture of the problem. Each detail gives you a clue to keep on going, searching for another detail, that will give you another clue, until the whole thing is solved. Until you, you have been through the puzzle, all by yourself, you don't know what it's like to be all over the floor, wanting to see what it'll turn out to be so bad that you never give up. You eventually learn how to do it and you know you could do it again. And again...you could do millions of puzzles, one at a time. Then it's done...and you�re proud of yourself. All the time, the suffering, struggling between curiosity and surrender, have finally paid off.

What's that something you compare to this process?

A 3-D puzzle.

Unlike puzzle pieces, Carmen and Veronica make more sense when they're not together.

Like a puzzle, I'm made out of little pieces.

And like a puzzle, I'll go rest...

prev / next