St. Joseph's mass (march 18th).
Tuesday, 03/19/02 - 5:54 pm.

HOLY FUCKIN' SHIT!

Dear God, what a day yesterday was. After classes, we worked on this big blanket. We painted our beautiful prom logo on it:
yellow claws holding the green letters ESJ, and popping out of those letters, it was the 2002.

Yesterday, it was St. Joseph's mass. As a member of the do-it-all team, I was supposed to be there at 3:30. Only I didn't know that, until it was 3:15. Carla made me do everything she could think of. I even had to go to her office and then come back, just to get her blouse. Now that wouldn't be that bad, but the chapel and her office are each on one extreme of school. It takes time to go from one place to another, and I get desperate. You have to cross the little forest, the auditorium, the parkway between it and the swimming pools, the walkway of the recess area (courts and cafeterias), and all of the halls (elementary, middle and high). But it didn't bother me. I was just happy to be helping with such thing. I'd never done it before and it's a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

From 3:30 until mass ended, I just ran from here to there, looking for certain people, lightning candles...all the details you don't notice at mass but if they're left out, you do notice.

Mass....mass was beautiful. There's always a group of dancers before it starts, and this year's music was the Braveheart soundtrack. It brought tears to my eyes. It was very touching.

Everything turned out very well. Only Melvin got confused (he was kind of my assistant) and we lost a couple of minutes but....details. The choir sounded great, too. Um...the guy sings in it. He's got a powerful voice.

My parents went to this mass and before they left, aaaawwwww....they'd brought me something for dinner.

So after the mass, the whole class of 2002 stayed to prepare everything for today, the big day. It was about 7:00 p.m when the shirts had arrived.

It's a tradition that every year the seniors get a shirt (two but one at a time). So in the middle of the night, at 7:30, the shirts were being given away in the BKB court, as the discotheque crew was setting up the stage for today.

I got my shirt (duh, of course)...it's great. It looks just great with the logo on it. Everybody was really happy. We had also gotten shirts for the guy, Head and Claudia (Norm's girl), because....'cause. The guy and Claudia, as I may have said several times, are repeating Junior, and they won't graduate with us *tear of anger, sadness and impotence*. Head...he's leaving for Canada in a few months, so he had to drop out *tear of the same kind above*. But they are part of us.

So until 7:30 to 10:00 p.m., everybody was busy setting up everything for today. I went for a walk through the halls. Very dark. All the stars shining up there. The biggest sound of the night was either Carmen's, Fo's or Norman's voice through the megaphone, saying something or giving a message to someone. Besides that, people were rehearsing for today's performances, preparing the ghost house (the biggest atraction) and such.

I ran into Ricardo and since I was doing nothing, we sat for a while on the green tables. There's no light in that zone, so we could barely see each other. We talked for a short period of time and then he left, because he hadn't had dinner, and he was planning to go to the mall (later on, he came back because all of the places were closed. Julio bought him something though).

I basically didn't do anything. We were supposed to make some kind of rug with salt. We needed colors for it. But there weren't materials to work on it. We (the graphic design comission) waited and waited and by the time the materials arrived (Fo and Norman had gone out to look for them on Norm's car), it was too late to start and people were leaving.

Oh, shit, yeah. My math exam. I must say....I succesfully fucked up. Sucks to be me.

Ok, but this entry goes to St. Joseph's mass. Sometimes it's hard to answer the question why is St. Joseph our patron saint? Why not Jesus or the virgin Mary, or someone more recognized? Yesterday's mass answered it. Sometimes it's hard to answer the question: why is a parrot our mascot?. Uh....we still have no clue.

Ok, so that'll do it for now. I'm still missing today's day (duh)...gosh, it rocked. But I have to study.



prev / next