The Festival.
Sunday, 04/03/05 - 11:48 pm.

Well, I just came from the Festival. I was there from 12:15 pm, until 9:45 pm. And it still hadn't ended when I left.

When I got there, I was dissapointed. It wasn't as I'd imagined it to be, and I walked around alone. I got myself something to eat and went to sit on the grass, behind a tent that sold, uh, stuff. I saw Fidel coming into the parking lot (it was a parking lot, and all the trees there weren't enough to keep all those heads from sunburning), but he was too far away.

I started to miss Joseph. But suddenly a guy of green shirt and a pair of All-Stars (I was wearing mine, as well) came to sit next to me. Oh, no, I thought to myself. I could not possibly have drawn anybody's attention. But indeed, he asked my name and age, and after a short conversation, he said that his friend "over there" wanted to meet me.

Ok, sorry. His friend was a dissapointment. The guy was cuter, and I'd have probably gone with the flow had he been the one interested. I kind of explained him that I had a boyfriend, or so it seemed, and even if I didn't, I wouldn't be in the mood to be, um, doing stuff. We're from this band, [I am not putting the name, in case their fans -do they even have?- do a search and come across this site] . I'd heard from them, they played at some rock festival not too long ago. And I said hmmm, rock stars. The guy played guitar, his friend was the singer. Maybe he can sing for you in your ear. I said I didn't like that. Do you like to be played with?. I got caught off-guard on this one, otherwise I'd have made a clever response, other than "no".

In retrospective, I should've showed him the scars on my wrist and tell him "I tried to commit suicide not too long ago, please leave me alone". But I didn't, and he even took a picture of me to put it in his band's website. I was open to meeting new people, and I was flattered with the attention (I'm a sucker for guys in bands), AND the guy was kind of cute (not the singer, who wanted to meet me) but Good Lord, was he annoying.

There were lots of punk kids. And I mean kids. Because a mexican ska-rock-punk-whatever band was scheduled to perform.

After this strange episode, I just walked around and took pictures, until I found two good friends from school (they come from way before I started this diary, so there's no mention of them whatsoever). It surprised me, they've been together for like four years. They asked me to join them, so I stayed with them for a couple of hours. Victor had asked me to go with him and his group for lunch before, but I was a little embarrased to be with them (of not fitting in, if you will), so I'd stayed. That's how I found the friends.

My sister was supposed to come with me at noon, but my nephew has some eye disease, so she said she'd come later. And my dad drove me to the Festival. I found her at 4 o'clock, when my friends were leaving. We agreed on leaving at 6. So I went off again and ran into Victor and another school friend named Allan (who happens to be my Latinamerican Literature instructor).

The sun was finally coming down, so the three of us decided to get closer to the stage. I met a few people there, including one that used to be the singer in Victor's band, and also loves The Beatles. See, I'm starting to hang out with musicians, how cool of me. At about that time I was glad to be at the Festival. The first hours were a drag, to be honest. But then I was being normal: me, at a concert, meeting people, taking pictures.

And hey, I found Fidel, too! And I stayed with him and Nayda (his "girlfriend"...she's a year younger than me), plus Allan and Victor. Fidel even bought me a cup of coffee. I was tired, though, and it was 6 already. But my sister called me and said she wanted to stay because the best was yet to come. I wasn't happy about it, but I went with it.

I'm glad I did. Victor, Allan and I got closer to the stage again. It was night by then, and indeed, things kept getting better and better. The best artists were left at the end, and people were singing along to their songs. It was moving. Among that crowd we ran into Samuel, who was my first guitar instructor, almost two years ago. He stayed with us. He's a nice kid, and was trying to talk me into learning Eleanor Rigby, on guitar, to take part in one of those performings at the university.

We could tell the last band, the mexican ska-rock-punk-whatever band was coming up, and so everybody would start pushing toward stage. So we got out and went back to the spot where Fidel was. Victor and Allan went off to greet friends, so Samuel and I were left to talk. So, um, we talked. About singing, playing guitar (he insists on listening to my "progress" on guitar, and bets I can sing...poor guy). And I even offered him a ride home, because my sister lives in the same neighborhood.

She was with her boss, and since he's her neighbor, he gave Samuel a ride. Otherwise, he would've come to my house first, to pick up my nephew, with my sister. So he left with the boss, and I left with the sister. Have I ever said how COOL she is to my friends? She is. She accepts them right away.

I'm skipping a lot of details, but YOU probably don't care about them and I am tired. I'm glad I went, though. Really glad. I had a lot of fun, despite the sun and the punks.

Oh, I witnessed a fight, too. Samuel and I were walking away from the stage, "let's go look for a safer place", we said. And right where we stood, two punks started to fist-fight, and then a punk girl started to hit one of the guys, with her purse. In front of them, there was this drunk girl who was half-unconscious, and a few people picked her up and made her throw up in a big trashcan nearby. That was fun for sure.

All right, that's it. Good night.

prev / next