Funny day with the friends, funny evening with the family.
Sunday, 06/26/05 - 9:56 pm.

My aunt, the one who looks like Sigourney Weaver, is leaving one of these days, so my parents decided to have a little family meal: both of them, my brother, sister, my aunt, my other aunt and her three sons and the wife and son (one month old!!!) of one of them.

It was fun, I consider those cousins the coolest of my relatives. But I'm always in some sort of generational gap, because my cousins are my siblings' age, and that's at least 10 years away from my age; I didn't grow up with them, my siblings did. So I decided to stay alone on the table (they were eating outside), instead of feeling left out (not intentionally). But my wonderful cousin Mario came to sit with me, and we talked a lot. He says I'm a Jedi when it comes to taming children, because I've had to literally raise my nephews and niece.

You may not remember, but he's the one I spent some time with once I went to Houston (in 2002, was it? I'm too lazy to look for those days, but it's in here somewhere). We went to the mall, and he taught me a lot about life that day. I remember the strange ice cream that melts in your mouth and such. Good times. He always has amazing stories to tell, that he experiencies first-hand. He's all knowledge. He's like Joseph, in a way. I thought it'd be so cool for both of them to meet each other.

The rest of the day, since 10 am, was spent at Irene's house, along with Victor and Priscilla, to do a lot of work for this week, our last week of the semester. We're so screwed, but we had a lot of fun, and we ate so much. They're such a laugh, all three of them. We were joined later on by The Husband, a classmate who's married, and once upon a time, was our religion teacher at school...he's quite young, really, early thirties.

So we were at Irene's house, and suddenly she said she needed to buy a book for an exposition she has tomorrow. She called a bookstore, and they said they had it on stock. I'll go in the afternoon, she said. Let's go now, I said. Because I HAD TAKEN THE CAR AGAIN, please, clap for me. Yes, yes, thank you.

So I had the car, and we drove to the mall that's uh, three blocks away. It was a quick trip, but I felt so independent, and emulating my brother Alan's behavior: you need something? Let's go get it right now. Irene says now I look confident when driving.

I certainly believe I've changed so much in a year, and I like it. Joseph says he's proud of me when I tell him I did something like I did today. I actually thought of going to his house after we were done, err, tired of working, and after I gave Victor a ride to his house, because it was early and my parents weren't expecting me to come back home until an hour later. Unfortunately, I had to work on my last Latinamerican Literature final project. It's turning out quite nice.

Oh, jeez, I wish I could go on with the chit-chat, but, um...we didn't a lot of work at Irene's, not as much as we were supposed to, anyway. So I'm still behind. But I'll leave you with a picture. Bye.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com


prev / next