I think this time I'll keep my distance.
Saturday, 07/09/05 - 8:27 pm.

I hate to admit that every time, every year I mean, I'm less and less thrilled with the visit of my nephew and niece. I love them, of course, but...I don't know. You see, this morning I had the chance to be with them, but instead I chose going to the university to read newspapers. I actually preferred that.

It could be that I don't know how to entertain them anymore, and since they're becoming teenagers, I have no bussiness doing with them anymore, especially with my niece, even though she's the youngest.

It was 11 pm last night, and she grabbed a can of coke. I said she couldn't, but my dad and brother said she could, so she did. My first impression was being embarrased, Ok, I have no authority. Is it that I'm too conservative, though? She's eleven and she can drink coke at 11 pm. I don't think I would've been allowed to do that when I was 11. Thanks a lot.

Perhaps I'm more on my nephew's side, because my niece always gets away with everything. She's grown up being called "princess", and even though she's not a girly-girl, the title seems to have gone to her head. She can do what she wants, God forbid you say no.

It upsets me, you know. She was telling me about Brad and Angelina and blablabla (in my mind I went, "yes, kid, I read newspapers") and then she tells me she's seen Mr. and Mrs. Smith. Isn't it too heated for a 11 year-old (I haven't seen it myself)? I don't mind that she gets exposed to sex, actually. I just hate how she pouts and pouts to see a movie not for her age, and since she's the "princess", she ends up doing it. I'm not talking about this movie in particular, because I don't know who she saw it with (or with whose permission). But it's always like that: "no, you can't watch it", and she stays around, and makes faces, and sits on a corner where she can watch...what a donkey she is sometimes.

You can't tell her anything. Especially if you're her brother. It takes so little for her to frown and start dragging the words and using that "you're so stupid, how dare you bother me?" tone. She's rude, like when somebody is speaking in the background and she goes sssshhh, so loud it isn't any softer than the mere "SHUT UP!".

They've been here for like four days, and both of them have already shown they don't want the other around. They can't stand each other, it isn't hard to tell. We were going for dinner last night, and that we should call my niece to see if she's available (if she didn't have any plans with her grandmother, where she's staying) and my nephew goes: she doesn't have to go. On the other hand, my niece was going somewhere with an aunt this afternoon, and she hadn't told her brother he could go, even though her aunt had invited him as well. For both cases, though, they both went.

I'd rather stay away from them. This afternoon I was sort of changing my mind a little, but in general, I'll try to keep my distance. My nephew is sweet, and so is my niece. But he isn't a "prince", and he doesn't give every detail of every irrelevant thing he lives in his day.

Fight Club is on at 9. That's highly likely to cheer me up.

prev / next