I went bowling, not to a bar.
Thursday, 07/14/05 - 10:25 pm.

I WENT BOWLING WITH MY FRIENDS, LIKE, OMG!!! Not without having to endure a relatively long and certainly unnecessary lecture from my dad. Dear father, I'm going bowling, not to a bar; chances are, the people in the lane next to us won't be checking us out, ready to pull a gun if they don't like us.

My dad was being so overprotective, as usual, that he didn't want me to take a ride. He said he'd take me himself. Now I start my nightlife, blablabla, you're an angel and the world is a demon, blablabla. *Sigh*.

BUT as the day went on, he gave it a second though. Because Michelle was the one who was giving me a ride, and she and my dad have been developing a friendly relationship. She admires him for all he's done and knows, and she wishes she had a dad like that (her dad abandoned her); he admires her literary drive. She once came to interview him, she was doing an extra assignment of interviewing a writer. So they met and liked each other.

Anyway, so my dad was a little sick and lazy, so he said it was ok that she gave me a ride. Michelle and her almost-boyfriend (they dated but broke up and now are like married but single...something like that) came pick me up, we went to her house in the next town to drop off a few things and then went bowling. But not her almost-boyfriend, he had to go somewhere else.

We met with Victor, ordered pizza, found out Priscilla wasn't coming, then Irene came. We got a free hour, and it was so much fun. Irene left early, and Michelle's almost boyfriend showed up early, so he took her place. It was fun times.

But today, the speech from my dad made me seriously say, hey, maybe it's time that I begin to think about moving out. In the end, my dad was a bit flexible, but they (him and my mom) still make me feel like I'm 11 years old sometimes.

Of course I will not move out anytime soon, I don't even have a real, steady job. I could ask Joseph to get me pregnant so we could get married and go live on our own, of course. But duh, I want independence, not to wreck my life [by doing those things ahead of their own time].

Alright, I'll stay with the sweet part of the day, which was going out with my friends. I guess when I say "friends" now I will include Michelle. We've been getting along so well this year, and while we were playing, I told her about my parents' overprotection. It was nice talking about it.

Thanks. Bye.

EDIT:

- Joseph: what happened in your house?
- Me: why?
- Joseph: I called your house at 9:20, your dad picked up and then hung up on me.
- Me: WHAT?! He didn't even say you called!!!

Ok, father. Fuck you. FUCK YOU!

prev / next