An accomplished morning and an evening with bearers of my second last name.
Saturday, 08/27/05 - 10:05 pm.

I'm getting good at accomplishing big tasks. This morning, in two hours, I read an entire month of newspapers, went and dropped off the missing Jung reading and also got a photocopy my mom needed. Plus, I checked out from the library two books on anorexia and one on child's psychodynamics, both for my Abnormal Behavior class.

At night there was a family reunion I wasn't very thrilled to attend, but it was a blast. It was my mom's side, my second last name. My uncle is here from Texas, and my cousin's son was born a few weeks ago, so it was a good time to celebrate.

My cousin Mario was there, playing with his new professional digital camera. He told me a lot about it, and said I could borrow it sometimes, because I told him I love photography, but I can't afford other than snapshot machines.

My twin cousins were there, too. I'm not exactly from my siblings' generation, I came a decade later, so I'm not close at all to them. See, there's my cousin whose baby was born, then his sister, and then his twin brothers, who are famous: one is a model and one is a radio DJ with his own fan club. They make commercials and stuff, and they used to be volleyball champs, along with their brother (once, the championship match consisted of the twins against their brother and his partner). I was a little startruck, but in the end, it doesn't quite matter.

I learned my grandfather was an atheist, who taught himself all kinds of things, from math to philosophy...although everybody came to the conclusion that he did believe in God, only rejected religion. My mom's side is much more colloquial and wittier than my dad's. I'm barely in touch with it, but all my cousins and my aunt and my uncle (my mom had three brothers, but two have passed away and I don't remember them much) are the soul of the party, always with jokes and funny stories and witty punchlines that come out of nowhere.

Soooo, uh...I suppose I have to go visit Joseph tomorrow afternoon. I hope I can accomplish my mission, and I hope my excuse will get me through. Luckily, my period arrived last night (I think my body has finally understood I can't have it arriving during the day), so sex is out of the question. I feel gross, anyway. I've been feeling gross and insecure for over a week now.

I have to hurry and finish the goal-o-the-day. So if you'll excuse me, I need to type up a text about anguish. Oh, fun.

prev / next