Life sometimes works out on its own.
Saturday, 07/13/02 - 11:58 am.

Well, I'm back from the party. It was ok. Not better, not worse than I expected.

My dad was picking me up at 11:00 p.m. I found Patch at 10:55. I saw him and we hugged. He'd cried. I'm sorry! Forgive me for being late!...I couldn't make it. He couldn't bear the pain and cried. I'd told him not to do it in front of her. She brought him. She likes him. He likes her, he said. Then he called her over (!) and she hugged me and said she was happy to see me. Then she left me to go look for her boyfriend-to-be and I had to leave. My last image of Patch was being hugged by his friends. I'm so sorry for him.

I arrived at 7:30. Patch didn't arrive until 10:50. What did I do throughout that time?

I hung out with Denv.

You see, I went online in the afternoon and he was on, too. I told him that due to a certain reason I was going to the party. Are we still on time?, he asked. I asked him to go and he thought about it. He picked out and described his outfit and I made him ask his parents. It's going to be like Pink's video...I have to take a bath, then I leave for the party....um, well, that's all. I don't have a black girl hanging out with me, I said. I could be the black one, he replied. Cool. But still he hadn't decided. Shit, what else do you need? got the outfit, got the girl.... I left for the party and he still hadn't told me if he was going.

I was actually pretty excited about the party. My first party. I've been to two parties, birthday parties, with protocole and such. But never a party just because. I couldn't help feeling so damn good for going. Plus, I was helping Patch (or so I thought).

I arrived to the place and only the class of 2002 (mine, duh) had arrived. Some were in the parking lot, some others were already at the lounge. I ran into some people and I greeted them. Hey, you came!!!!. Art and Cel were together, with no three meters between them. They looked cute together. They asked me to go with them to the parking lot to buy chewing gum. I went...and to my surprise, Denv was already there. I swear I thought he wasn't going. Holy-fucking-shit...he came, I whispered to myself.

I'll make it short: He and I were together the whole time. We didn't separate for a second.

By 9:something, the lights went out. A blackout. He and I saw some couples making out. We sat on the floor and he told me jokes. We talked. We walked around. And talked some more. Then he bought soda. We saw Vic and his girl making out (when our eyes got used to the dark)....an hour later, the light came back on and we sat and socialized with some people. Then I left.

I'll be honest, I expected something. I like him, I truly do. I saw The Guy, and he was with a girl. I swear I didn't feel anything about it but good for him. I'm over him. But the price I had to pay was another infatuation. With a boy closer to me, but still unreachable.

We didn't dance. I don't dance. He doesn't dance. Many people went Denver, you came! and he'd go: yeah, she made me do it. Norm even whispered "thank you" for that. Truth is -according to what he says- that he came because there wouldn't be anyone on the MSN messenger to talk to. At times he'd say something that would make me believe he had some interest in me, but judging by the whole night and small details....nah.

Is this your lipgloss?, he asked. I'd drunk from his can of soda. I said that it probably was. Mmmmmm...I like Ricardo's better. He wanted to show his feminine side, I guess. He said he wanted to go look for him and gay around. Cute.

Roberto and Carmen blamed us for the lights going off. You altered the natural course of things. You shouldn't be here. Neither of us both was "supposed" to go to the party. But then they said that they weren't happy with the natural course and were glad to have us there.

You're fuckin' Nostradamus, they said then. Denv and I had predicted that something would happen at the party. The lights went out. I too predicted something about the two of us: we'd sit on the floor. (....) and while my friends are working, I'll be alone sitting on a chair, he'd said when I was trying to convince him to go. Hey, don't worry. We'll get bored together sitting on the floor. I said it joking but we did sit on the floor, when everything was dark. And he told jokes and we looked at the sky, there was a storm coming in (but it didn't rain).

Yeah, maybe...Was it a date? Then that'd have been my first date. Kind of. I invited him. We met there at the place. We hung out together, like the friends *we are*. You're dismissed.

But yeah...I'm a bit dissapointed. I could cry about it. We're just friends. No, I didn't want to lose my virginity tonight *cough*. But hey, at least I got to be with him. I mean...everything worked out so perfectly. I decided to go, he went and we were together the whole party. Had we stayed at home, we wouldn't have talked online, because the blackout was general (in the city). Instead, we sat on the dark and I heard his lame jokes (but still, he's um..."cute" in the dark).

I can't believe how everything turned out so perfectly without planning on it.

And still, to be a party, it didn't quite suck.

But damn, I forgot to claim my free drink.

prev / next