Ignoring trolls, apple pies and movies make you ZEN.
Friday, 02/24/06 - 9:26 pm.

Well, about yesterday's problem, I did what you're supposed to do with a "troll": ignore it. See, there's nothing wrong in being questioned sometimes, but once they start attacking you personally, you know everything will end up in tears.

My mom brought me an apple pie this afternoon, when she went out for lunch with friends. At night, my nephew came in a hurry to pick up his shoes, which he'd left the night before, and gave me a "mini" apple pie he and my sister bought for me (she gets me treats for babysitting the boy)...it's so cute! Well, was. Is this a nice karma for getting them muffins yesterday? Aw, you guys shouldn't have.

I still can't get to sleep before 3 am, and it's driving me nuts. I avoid napping during the day, and I clear my mind almost entirely when I lay down, but it doesn't work. Nothing works. I was so desperate this morning that I started to hit myself, although we all know getting a rush to the head won't work either. I wasn't sleepy nor tired, but I wanted to sleep and it wasn't happening.

To help with the clearing my mind thing I decided to watch a movie, and I chose The Little Mermaid. Man, so many memories! My brother brought nearly the entire collection of Disney animated movies (not originals, though) when he moved back here, from Florida, shortly after my first nephew was born. I was only seven, and I had quite a trip, because the videos also contained episodes of cartoons that weren't airing here. And that's when I started learning english, too. At first I didn't learn the dialogues but the sounds of the characters speaking.

So, I popped it in, and wow, this time I understood every word, and the sounds that still came to my head from time to time became words with a very specific meaning. But most important, it made me cry so hard. I've learned that if I watch a movie alone, I'll cry at a certain point, no matter what it is about. I hold in the tears if I'm watching with somebody else, but if I'm alone, I'm like Niagara falls.

It's my niece's birthday today, by the way. It could also be George Harrison's...I'm not sure, some say it's the 24th, some the 25th. He was born at home at midnight, so the timing is bound to be not very accurate. So, I guess I'll celebrate twice. Happy birthday niece and George!

It's also the birthday of a classmate of mine. I don't remember talking about her here. We weren't very close, but I LOVED her sense of humor, she was Daria, except she'd smile (often by her own sarcastic remarks). I wish I could've hung out with her more often at school, I enjoyed her company. And I'm glad she thinks the same about me. She never misses my birthday, and I never miss hers.

And while we're at it, happy belated birthday, mister Brad Whitford (he's a member of Aerosmith...did I ever tell you about my Aerosmith concert!?!?! wooohhh, muthaFUCKA!). It was yesterday, but I was pissy. I'm not today, I'm all zen.

I'm thinking of joining some martial arts based workout program or something. I want to feel the power of being skilled to kick ass.

prev / next