Mostly about my siblings and their children.
Sunday, 03/26/06 - 10:45 pm.

On friday I went to have lunch with my brother's ex-father-in-law (brother from El Paso). There was this beautiful toddler sitting on the staircase, with big eyes, bangs and a blue jumper. I'm too lazy to describe everything at this point. It was ok. He's a nice man (I think I've mentioned him before, he's italian and speaks like The Godfather).

Ok, last night! My brother got married, yay. It was an outdoors event. It was lovely, except it got very cold at night and people had to flee. He looked great in a tux, and his girlfriend (wife!) in a golden dress. He'd invited the whole psychology department from my university, which was kind of awkward for me. But I laughed silently to myself seeing Mr. Basket and other professors of mine dance.

My brother FEP brought his girlfriend. She is beautiful, and they have a wonderful chemistry. I was sorry to learn she was going back to Mexico (she was born here, but like my brother, went abroad to continue her career in medicine) this morning. I hope they get married, too.

Anyway, back to the wedding. It was a short ceremony to marry by the law, and then Mr. PhD gave the religious blessing. In theory, they're only married legally and not religiously, but it doesn't quite matter. I saw them both tonight and nothing has changed, except they're now wearing silver rings. They've been together for a looong time, so I guess it was just a formal procedure, this wedding thing (I learned yesterday they met and hooked up in first year of college...when I was eight or nine years old? Lord).

Today we called my brother in Houston, to tell him how it all went. We're sorry he couldn't make it; he's busy with his usual doctor life, plus family, plus they just got a new house. In "family" I should add my nephew is not doing good. It seems this week he went back to...not being well. I didn't hear details, nor I think I'd want to. I spoke to him on the phone and he said everything was "very, very good". It's his typical response, whether he's just in denial or trying to hide it.

My niece was a bit more open. And she even told me "the doctor" has asked to see her, because it *seems* she has ADD. What the fuck. I told her it could also be that she isn't in the best of enviroments right now. After we hung up I started to think it made sense...that she talks too much and has a lot of trouble concentrating for homework. But you know how the human brain always tries to fill in the gaps. That doesn't mean anything, and as far as I know, she never had trouble in class. Whatever she has, if she has anything, I'd say it's just an effect of living under so much stress, especially since her brother...broke out.

Blah, my brother leaves tomorrow back to EP, after spending a nice week home with us. I'll never get entirely used to having my family come and go like that, but...I'm kind of used to it by now. I guess the next visitors I should be looking forward to it's my nephew and niece during the summer, but with the recent crisis, it's likely that my nephew won't be able to come. It'd shatter him, I believe, if he didn't come and his sister did, but she too needs a break.

Dammit, I'm tired, and I need to get up early tomorrow. Brother leaves, I drive to the university for a 9 am meeting, I have a project meeting at 2 and a fucking pop quiz at 6:30. I was hoping Joseph could come to see me on mondays, but at least tomorrow that's impossible.

It's Steven Tyler's birthday today, I need to point that out. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Mr. TYLER!!!! Bless his heart, I hope all goes well with his surgery.

I just want to wrap this up saying it was great having my brother this weekend, and having my other brother marrying to this awesome woman. It's a shame my other brother couldn't come. And...uh, my sister. I figure I should mention her, now that I'm having a paragraph about my siblings. She rocks, too, and so does her kid, who makes the funniest faces and rocks the dance floor like nobodyeverybody's watching, and they are, amused. The end.

prev / next