How he was raised.
Friday, 06/09/06 - 9:36 pm.

This week I've ended my days with a headache. I wake up really tired, more so everyday. These are the last weeks of the semester, everything's going so fast and yet it never ends.

The good thing is that I've made new friends in the cubicle. I've met them for quite a while, but we're getting along pretty good. It's a group of three girls and one guy...sounds a lot like my own gang. They get the best grades, and even if they don't, they have that reputation. Same with my gang. It's funny, how we have a lot in common.

I visited Joseph yesterday. Her mom had this get-together of old ladies, and I was a little embarrassed to walk through the balcony (there's a somewhat hidden staircase under it, that leads to Joseph's bedroom). He was playing PS2, and we'd planned on going out for coffee. But I laid down on his bed and couldn't get back up. He wasn't complaining.

We were close to sex, and to reinforce my drive, he said, think that none of those old ladies upstairs are virgins. We were close, but I'm too tired for any kind of exercise. I admit I would probably have more energy if I worked out, but it's a vicious cycle I obviously can't break. We didn't. It's ok, it's enough just having you in my bed. He never fails to treat me like he's fallen in love at first sight me, with me, right at the moment.

As usual, we talked a lot while cuddling. I learned his parents used to beat him, because he and his brother were always pissing each other off. One day Joseph burned his brother's bed, in a prank that turned out too well. His dad (or his mom?) once hit them with a broom stick and broke it in three. She'd kick him...and son on.

He tells those stories like a joke, but I asked him what he did at the time (he was just a kid). Cry, I guess. He doesn't call his mom, "mom", he calls her by her name, since the day they were in a store, he said "hey, mom", and she slapped him. Now she begs me to call her mother. He learned to deal with her, and as he grew up, he'd stopped caring; if she slapped me, I'd smirk, and that pissed her off even more.

I suppose now he's the one in control, and doesn't really care about his mom. But his tone was changing as he told me those stories, and he ended up saying yeah, ok...maybe I do have my traumas. His mom and dad are really sweet to me, and they do love Joseph. But the way they raised him is totally the opposite to the way I was raised, and I think it's just awful. He and I will have to talk a lot about how we'll raise our children (I admit sometimes I'm scared of having children, for that same reason).

Well, my nephew wants me to read him a story (he's staying here since my sister's house was broken into, like a week ago. She's in the process of moving to a new house). I'll be stopping here. My schedule is horrible, anyway, and nobody wants to hear about it...let alone me. Good night.

prev / next