The boy I love, and the boy I hope beats it.
Saturday, 08/26/06 - 9:26 pm.

This has been the best week ever in my relationship with Joseph. I saw him nearly everyday. We went shopping*, had Bedroom Time with sex, Bedroom Time without sex, had dinner, watched My Name Is Earl (his favorite show, he's kind of like Earl, and he knows it), talked about the past and the future, cleared doubts.... Our relationship is nearly perfect, even with its occasional conflicts. The only thing missing is being able to go out at night.

But even that, he's willing to overlook, and keeps saying I am the love of his life. Even after two years, he doesn�t cease to tell me how much he loves me and how he thinks I�m gorgeous, etc. I never thought anyone could love like that. I mean, I am madly in love with him, like I never have and never will, I am entirely hung up on him. But I have to admit that, I believe, it doesn�t compare to how strongly he feels for me. It�s overwhelming; he says he�s addicted to me. Yeah, without a doubt.

*He bought me a cellphone. He�d been bugging me to change mine, because it�s rather big and thick. I fought the idea for months, but I gave in. Nothing fancy, I just wanted a device that makes and receives calls, with the plus that fits my hand. I let him buy me a $35 one. It�s cute, half the size of the old one. And I got to keep my number, so it�s all good.

I kind of talked about him with my mom. Not that I cared, she asked. She brought up what happened last saturday, when they made me come home at 10 pm. I was over it, so I shrugged it off. I�m not comfortable talking to her about my relationship with him, but at least she knows we�re still dating, and other details.

Tomorrow it�s the beginning of my work in the community. We�ll go there every Sunday afternoon, which is a complete hassle. I�m sure it�ll be a great experience, but I�m still upset. We�re not very sure if people will show up, to begin with. It�s because they didn�t ask for any help, we got there. The subject forces you to assume that people in the community will be interested in getting your help.

Now, for the sad note: Tom Hamilton, bassist of Aerosmith, has been under treatment for throat cancer. I wanted to cry when I read the news. He was the one band member who smiled at me at the concert, and, more than that, I�ve always loved his sense of humor and his News From the Road (which I wish he�d kept writing). I�m scared, because the first signs of mortality of my favorite band are starting to show. And I�m upset, because Aerosmith will begin the tour without him.

My best wishes to you and your family, Mr. Hamilton :(

prev / next