They could've been my nephew and niece.
Wednesday, 08/30/06 - 11:49 pm.

I was very harsh to Joseph this morning, because he was late. We were going to the mall, but when I stopped by his house, he was still asleep, after a heavy night. My anger faded away, and he told me. Then I apologized. I'll work on not being so bitchy, and telling him things straight to his face.

This semester is unbelievably relaxed. I only had one class today, until 6:30 pm. No more! I stayed home the entire afternoon, had a snack, and ate some stuff for Psychological Treatment. I left home at 5:30, thinking of a one-hour long traffic jam, but it took me just 20 minutes (the usual) to get to campus.

Since I stayed home in the afternoon, I got to see special people who came to visit. My brother's ex-girlfriend, and her parents. The couple I've talked about a few times, the man is italian and talks like Vito Corleone. I love going to their house, because he makes italian food (obviously), and they're just wonderful people.

My brother's ex-girlfriend, AM, gave birth to a boy two months ago. She brought him, along with her parents. And brought her daughter and her nephew. I already knew that nephew, because he was at his grandparents' home, one day they invited us for lunch (when my brother was here, visiting from El Paso). He's gorgeous, a three/four-year-old with a Beatle-do. I wish I'd taken pictures! I completely forgot, caught up in the moment.

So these two toddlers are cousins, and looked like twins. They got attached to me, and I literally babysat them the whole time they were here. But everything was a "why". Why is Frog a dog, why do I have a dog, why is that animal a parrot, why do you wear shoes, why do I have a bedroom, etc. But I was loving every second. I took them to feed the birds in the backyad.

- Boy: why aren't the birds coming?
- Me: because we're standing here. We have to leave if we want them to come.
- Boy: why won't they come?
- Me: because they're afraid of people.
- Boy: why are they afraid of people.
- Me: because some people hurt them.
- Boy: but we won't.

*Boy grabs a glass ornament on my TV*
- Boy: does this break?
- Me: yes, it does. [surprisingly, didn't ask why]

*Boy grabs a mini ninja turtle I have on my TV*
- Boy: does this break?
- Me: it doesn't. But you take care of it as it did.

*Boy grabs a plastic ornamente*
- Boy: does this break?
- Me: it doesn't.
- Boy: But you take care of it as it did.

My God, I melted. I was truly delighted. I usually say I'm not interested in little kids, because I'm not, but as soon as I have one in front of me, I give in. They said they'd come back tomorrow to feed the birds again (they birds did come to eat). And they didn't want to leave the house.

AM knows this family very well, because she dated my brother for nearly seven years. It was the end of the world for both families when they broke up, and Mr. and Mrs. Corleone sometimes call his son-in-law (AM's married) by my brother's name. Rather uncomfortable, yes. Anyway, she knows it so well, and knows I practically have raised my nephews and niece, to some extent. She wasn't that surprised when realized I was babysitting them. I guess to some extent, they did reminded me of my own nephew and niece (my other brother's kids, the teenagers) when they were little: their hairs were similar, the boy's was straight, and the girl's was curly.

They are adorable. The girl hugged me goodbye spontaneously. It hit me when I heard AM, as she was saying goodbye to my mom, that they could've been my nephew and niece (the girl is the daughter's of her sister, but same thing, all in the family). I wish I could see them often. I'll probably see them again in a long time, and by then, they won't remember a thing.

prev / next