November 5th, 2006.
Sunday, 11/05/06 - 12:18 pm.

I think it's a beautiful day. My brother Alan turns 35 (or was it 36?). This week I got back in touch with three old friends from school (Dany, Melvin and Angelica), and I thought a lot giving Veronica a call, but never did.

I've made a list of all the people I want to mail a christmas greeting card, or at least send a message through the internet. I also made a list of the people I'm buying something for the holidays. I tend to feel lonely sometimes (even more so years ago, when still in high school), but actually I have a large social network, and that makes me feel secure and happy.

Instead of doing all my university work, I've been cleaning up my bedroom, trying to get rid of unnecesarry things. It's hard, and I haven't thrown away much. My books, my documents, my university readings, my box with letters and memories, my Simeone box, my Aerosmith-Beatles section, my A-B videos, my plush toys (all with a meaning behind), my box of small treasures collected in time, the pile of my siblings' schoolwork...

And it's because I've been thinking of what I'd grab if I were in a hurry. As in, if this volcano explodes. This year I've had that fear, since I read the article that said its period of inactivity was coming to an end. It's mildly irrational, but I'm still trying to figure out a plan for a worst-case scenario, since nobody else has, and we are living on it.

I've been trying to get back to writing. I miss Simeon, but thinking mainstream, thinking of having an audience for him makes me go mute. All I did with him was FUN, but I doubt most people would enjoy the unestructured silliness. Structure, that's all he needs.

Joseph invited me to the movies today, but he has to work in the afternoon, and I can't go at night (weekly family get-together, and for a reason, I'm craving that). Still, we're going out on tuesday or wednesday, to do some exploration of the christmas market, and also, to get materials for the bracelets. I have put aside the bracelet bussiness these last days, though; anyway, it hasn't even quite started yet.

And this is what's going on in my head right now. I'll probably regret not putting more efforts on schoolwork this weekend, but I also don't want to regret putting the whole focus of my life on studying.

prev / next