Waffles, niece and the perks of being an instructor.
Tuesday, 09/11/07 - 9:22 pm.

1. Waffles is back. Joseph is happy. So am I.

2. My niece wrote me!!!! She wrote my parents, too. She said something like [grandma, my mom] asks me if they did something to me. No. I did this to myself. I'm blown away, and I feel like crying, because I'm angry at the things she's done, but also I want her to be ok. She says it's so hard for her to be without her family, and it's been three months now. She can't write with pens, they're "contraband" because once someone got a tattoo with one. That gives me an idea of the place she's in, and it's a little scary (plus, she says there's a lot of drama and peer-pressure).

BUT...that was the last choice. And I'm really hopeful that it'll be good for her. I wrote her back, and while I avoided being preachy, there's a subtle line about learning. It hurts me to think she's suffering, but if she can get something out of it, then it's a must. Truthfully, things were out of everyone's hands with her. I witnessed. Brother #2 did, too (and even got scratched in the face by her), and he says to my parents you wouldn't have liked to see the scenes I saw. I feel like crying just by remembering. I was so angry at her.

She feels lonely. I could only tell her that even if she felt lonely, I was always thinking about her and wishing her the best. If the things she wrote to us are true and keep developing, then I know things will be ok, sooner or later. She's a smart kid. She didn't act like one at times, but deep down, she is above average.

3. I feel popular. When I have to walk through the hallway, my pupils from Psychology of the Learning Process are also switching class, and they say hi to me and call my name. Damn, I'm only missing someone to say "high five!" to. That'd be lame, though. Anyway, it's a huge ego boost, and I'm a sucker for those.

prev / next