Still, there are reasons to smile.
Wednesday, 10/31/07 - 9:05 pm.

Things have picked up. Mmm, wait, not really, they haven't. But I have. Actually, I forgot to add yesterday the good parts of my current life. So here they are, for the sake of it.

1. S told me I have perfect lips. I'd say that's a wonderful compliment. I think they're too thin, but yeah, their shape is nice.

2. Two classmates of mine gave me candy. One girl just arrived from Mexico and brought me a skull lollipop. The other girl is my teammate for a subject (Labor Practics), and two days ago, she got a lollipop for her kid at the public school, and she got another one for me. It made me feel...I don't know. Appreciated! Yes. Both things made me smile very much.

3. Last week something funny happened between Joe and me. He walked by the cubicle with Nayda. I've mentioned her here YEARS ago, I met her when I was in high school and she was in 9th grade. So they walk by, and then walk by again. She walks into the cubicle and asks how do I know Joe. "He taught me the little guitar I know". Meanwhile, he stood outside, kind of hiding. "Really? He told me you once were his girlfriend". Aaaaawww. I said yeah, nearly; we were an item in a past life. He played along with that idea. I considered this situation awfully cute.

And remember how yesterday I said the gang always gets away with everything? IT DIDN'T HAPPEN!!!! They had an exposition today. For that, you interview two people from different organizations and analyze them from whatever subject your chapter is about. You do a lot of work, in a nutshell. I knew for experience that they'd be rushing this morning to finish their exposition.

BUT...they worked on chapter 10, when in reality they were supposed to do chapter 11. My God!!! I spent hours trying not to laugh. I felt very mean, of course, because you mustn't laugh at anybody's expenses...but honestly, I thought some justice was being done. Chapter 10 wasn't even included in the course, so it made no sense for the professor to let them do the exposition.

I felt especially sorry for Michelle, because her grade isn't very good so far and she's afraid she might fail the course (and wait one year to take it again, thus not graduating next year). And anyway, I do acknowledge they worked hard. Who wouldn't, when you have less than 24 hours to finish a long-ass work? Plus, all the effort to contact the organizations, and prepare the interviews, etc. Michelle was doing the PowerPoint presentation today at 1 pm, because Irene hadn't sent in her part before. See? That's the trainwreck I got away from. I didn't see Victor and Victoria worried about losing their grade, but as Michelle pointed out, they're doing good on that subject anyway.

All in all, let me enjoy this moment.

Ok, I'm done.

I wrote a short message to Joseph. I asked my friend Angel for his point of view, and he gave me some advice. I wrote:

Don't think I haven't gotten in touch with you due to lack of time or something. It's just that the last time we were together it seemed to me that you were thinking a lot about our relationship. You don't know how badly I want to see you, but I thought it'd be best to leave you alone so you can clear your mind. I don't know if I did the right thing, but I didn't know what else to do.

Call me when you want, I'll be waiting.

*Sigh*

Speaking of phone calls, W, my boss/friend/former professor/brother #3's friend just called me. He wanted someone's phone number and also asked me about people who always try to cheat, getting a copy of the exam. I was a little reluctant, but he knew names already, so all I said was to confirm the info he had. As I told him, he's the most well-informed professor of the career. A lot of people look for him to tell him their things, and he's up to date with all the gossip.

Today he told me (at the university) he wanted to talk to me. You know how it is, the "we need to talk" line always leaves you in a "oh-oh" mood. I took the opportunity to ask him over the phone if it was something bad. He laughed out loud and replied "no; not to me, anyway". Oh-oh. I have my hypothesis, but I'll just discard them and wait until tomorrow.

Wait, I'll add a number 4 to my list.

4. One of my pupils from Psych of Learning seems to have a crush on me. Well, I don't know. I like to think so. Sometimes he comes to the cubicle, sits in my chair and spends a couple of hours there. Usually, he tries to annoy me or asks me silly questions about the material for our next discussion. W says he indeed has a crush on me.

Well, I have a crush on him, too. It's a healthy thing, really, and it makes me giggle stupidly in secret. I sigh and smile when I see his name, whenever I'm giving him a grade after a discussion or checking his exams. It's come to my attention than when he walks into the cubicle, I leave everything and pay entire attention to him. I could very well spend an hour sitting on the desk (I sit on desks) while he's sitting on my chair; not even speaking to each other, but it's still funny. I got a little nervous today just because he was close to me. He notices and comments on my clothes (how I'm always wearing something black), he teases me about something in my life, etc.

Today, when we were talking, I just knew. I looked at his eyes while he was talking to me, and I knew. I could be wrong, but regardless, I have had a share of people infatuated with me, and I know that look. It's a different look. It's softer, deeper than your average interlocutor's. I'd be lying if I said I don't care about him.

Oh, man, I'm giggling again!!!! I suck, and I'd better go back to work, to wipe off this sinful thoughts from my immaculate mind.

prev / next