Volunteering and having a mentor.
Monday, 11/19/07 - 10:24 pm.

Today was an odd day. Today begins the countdown, two more weeks before I finish university. I have a long list of reports and papers to write for every subject, plus finals. I'm not panicking yet.

My adult patient won't be attending therapy anymore, due to schedule problems. This makes me sad, because I had high hopes of helping her. I like therapy with adults, and in fact, I'd like to get a grad degree on that.

I have a group for my thesis!!! And it won't be anyone from the gang. I'm really sorry about that, because I appreciate them and even miss hanging out with them, but quite honestly, our working style is way too different. I know Irene, Victor and Victoria will go together, and more power to them. I'll stick to F&F, my husband-and-wife classmates. They're older, more responsible, and they tend to set aside a good portion of time for group discussion. I have to thank Sulley because she asked Fwife and I if we were going to do our thesis together. We both went "we, um, we don't know...", and we realized we both -and Fhusband- had thought about that, so we made the deal right there.

I wasted most of my afternoon. Since on mondays I don't have class, I was going to come home at 4 pm and work on some things. But I went to see W (more on that ahead) for some things regarding his students, and on my way to the cubicle to pick up my stuff and leave, I bumped into the coordinator of the career, a nice lady that was also my Communitary Psychology professor. She was looking for two instructors who had failed to do their duty of doing these professor evaluations (students evaluate them, anonymously). I volunteered to do that, for Psychosocial Support during Carastrophes (cool name, huh?). I sat through a few expositions, and then the professor allowed me to do the evaluation. While I was there, the computer they were using was taken away by its owner, and I volunteered to lend my own, since I'd brought it with me today. I don't really like that group of students, they're a drag. But something made me do it, and I ended up leaving campus at 6:30 pm. This was a series of unfortanate events, you might think, but also, "time you enjoy wasting is not wasted".

The best part of the day, though, was talking to W. I broke him the news of my thesis group, and he went on to analyze me for a while; we talked about how I felt over my patient leaving (guilt, etc.) and over the break-up with the gang. I secretly like it when he gets all clinical on me, because it's like seeing a psychologist. I mean, yeah, he IS one, but obviously he could never be my therapist (because we're friends already). However, you could say this kind of attention he pays to me and my whereabouts from time to time is very therapeutic. I can talk to him about things I can't talk to anyone else and he asks and tells me things I'm not very aware of and such. It's so nice.

My friend Michelle says he talks a lot about me, that I'm a great instructor and all that. I'm a sucker for having a mentor, someone I look up to and who in turn believes in me and pushes me to give my best. That's what Fidel was, when I was in school. Last year, I remember craving being close to W, not because I was in love or anything. I was just drawn to him, and I wanted to go look for him and talk about anything and everything, but I didn't want to be like everybody else.

And now, a year later, he calls me superinstructor and such. He enjoys talking to me, too. I can tell by the way he cares about my opinions and what I think about all the things we discuss. He already asked me to work with him next year, and I said yes. I foresee an ego-boosting closure of this year, I know he's very happy with my work.

Oh, well, enough of this. I have to go prepare an exposition I have tomorrow for my brother's class.

prev / next