Job on the side, burglar and parents.
Friday, 01/25/08 - 11:06 pm.

I earned $10 today, by helping W with a very monotonous task. He insisted on paying me, so yay. He asked me to be his assistant in the future, when he takes more of these side jobs. You know, the university salary is a disgrace, and in a place where your profession is underrated, you have to make a living somehow.

However, I've been in front of computer screens most of the day, for his assignment or for my thesis. I have a slight headache. My right eye must be dying; since last year, it hurts and I feel it shrinking, and now I have some kind of slight twitch. What the hell? I thought I was going blind, because I'd get a headache on the right side, on and above the eye, but I still have a good sight. I really need to get this checked.

I was going to see a french movie with Joseph on wednesday. But over the weekend, while it was my birthday and he was away, someone broke into his bedroom and stole his laptop, a pair of shoes, a backpack and the tons of things that were inside. Turns out this man has been breaking into his neighbors' houses, too. Joseph and his dad caught him on tuesday, but he got away. He'd stolen a ladder and he'd climbed into the backyards (the backyards have walls against some sort of abbyss, and there's a creek at the bottom of it...how does that guy climb up that?!).

So poor Joseph is very uneasy, and he refuses to leave the house in case he comes back. I went to see him yesterday and when I opened the door, he jumped out his bed. From now on I have to knock, and I must not leave the door open under any circumstances, which is pretty understandable. He had an ax below the cushions of his couch. I asked him why not the gun (I'm not pro-gun really, but at times like this I'm pragmatic), and it was also stolen. Oh, joy. Now even I can't sleep.

But this burglar seems kind of harmless, in the sense that he just steals stuff when no one's looking. I hope he gets caught, though. He keeps coming back, and people notice too late.

On other news, my parents will come back from Houston next thursday, and thus my tiny era of freedom will come to an end. Sure, I didn't have to pay bills (brother #3 and sister took care of it), but I'm almost bankrupt, with grocery shopping alone. In my defense, I didn't have a lot of money and food is pricey. I don't really want this to end, because I get to watch TV without my dad asking me at what time is it gonna end because he wants to catch a movie at 9. And I can go over to Joseph's when I want, and stay all the time I want without owing explanations.

And even though I love my parents, I don't really miss them. Well, I mean, I do, but I also like living on my own. Did I mention the perks of being able to watch TV? I don't have to see four different news shows at noon. Man, I wish I could move out. Someplace near, because it's not that I want to stop seeing them. But I stick to living with them, because I have no money, and even if I had a good income, I'd save most of it for when I go study abroad.

However, I have not taken a step regarding that subject. Haven't searched for scholarships, haven't chosen universities. I'm busy with the thesis and W's constant assignments (he'd BETTER write me a good recommendation letter), but I will get to it, I promise.

And I have to convince Joseph to come with me. That's gonna be hard, too, and I can't tell what his final answer will be. As of now, in general, I'm having a hard time finding means to make the life I want come true.

prev / next