Oh-oh, he's crying...what do I say, what do I say?!
Sunday, 02/10/08 - 8:56 pm.

On friday, I saw Joseph cry. It was awful. He'd had a row with his parents that nearly ended in a physical fight. He didn't say why.

I was taking him to the mall, where his friends from Guatemala would pick him up and take him there. He seemed really sad and unable to speak, as I was putting his stuff in the trunk of my car, and he didn't tell me much. In a pharmacy at the mall he bought a bottle of Pepto Bismol, and drank it, sure sign that he's angry or in pain (or both).

I ran into a good friend from the university and while the three of us were talking, Joseph's phone rang. He took the call, I said goodbye to the friend. And then he started to cry. We stopped at the bottom of the stairs that led to the parking lot, and he smiled and said he felt awkward. People were passing by, you know. But he stayed there until he calmed down.

When we were saying goodbye he said the phone call was from his dad, telling him that everything was ok now. Clearly, it wasn't ok for Joseph. I was worried that he wouldn't be allowed to get back to the house, though, and at least it wasn't gonna be like that.

He should be coming home anytime soon. Today he asked me to call his parents to let them know he was going to be late. It's a good thing he told me, because I was expecting his call so I'd pick him up. But friends would give him a ride. Also it's a good thing because, by the sigh of relief from his mom when I told her, his parents were worried.

And that's all for now. I have to go find scholarships.

prev / next