After some crying, the bridge is rebuilt.
Sunday, 03/30/08 - 10:03 pm.

Some night this week I dreamed that my dad was hugging my sister in the doorway, and they were both crying and making up after the silent treatment. Tonight she came to pick up my nephew, and for some reason, she got out of the car and walked into the house; she greeted brother #3 and wife casually, hugged my mom tightly and jumped on my dad and they both started crying really hard. Some things were said, about trust and this is your house and putting it all behind.

It was an awkward moment, but I was relieved. I know enough about dreams to know that in this dream I describe I was just seeing a strong desire, a desire that I didn't pay much attention to in my conscious life. It'd been two or three weeks; I was missing my sister and it was heartbreaking that she and my parents were in such conflict.

I didn't know when it was going to end. I didn't see it coming tonight, but also I'm not surprised. My nephew made a couple of comments today, about how sad that we couldn't all be together and that his mom missed our sunday family dinner. Hopefully by next week all will be back to normal.

Joseph and I also had an argument today. Not to the point of yelling or throwing stuff. But I did raise my voice while crying, so you could consider that it was a bit severe. I do like that we're still mature enough to listen to each other, so while I was sort of scolding him, he accepted his responsability; and then he gave me his point of view, which was valid and I accept the flaw. He left me alone for about 10 minutes and then we made up and things improved for the rest of the afternoon. The solution is hard, but we'll get there.

One last thing: I've been invited to talk about my book with other two young writers. I'm a little annoyed because I'm noy very much into public appearances, but what the hell, said. It's a good chance and I'm flattered to be considered to take part in it. I did freak out when I found out that the other two girls have won awards; one won a contest held last year by a major newspaper, and the other won something else...but what irks me the most is that this girl was.my.patient; my very first adult patient (and before that, I'd only seen a child patient). I guess I'm a little ashamed about how incompetent I was when I saw her.

But anyway, for now let's just stick to the wonderful reconciliations of this day *cheers*.

prev / next