Uncle, cousins and a secret we must keep.
Sunday, 05/04/08 - 10:04 pm.

I'm not sure why I've failed to mention that my uncle passed away, 10 days ago. He'd been sick for years, 8 at least. I wasn't close to him at all, but I am close to one of his sons, cousin Mario, and to his ex wife, my aunt, who took care of him for a good while. My prayers are with them. My uncle was my dad's cousin, and my aunt is my mom's sister. Such family affair.

I have also failed to mention that my parents are going to Houston. Like, tomorrow. For an entire month. A glorious month in which I'll get to watch TV at night. They'll also be attending a cousin's wedding in Canada by the end of this month. They're a tad annoyed because they hate to leave and go someplace where they depend on everyone else to get by and can't speak the native language. Still, we say it's good for them, a nice vacation to get away from routine, and they should do it often.

Please, don't tell Joseph (I know you won't). Like in january, when my parents were also in Houston, I debated whether or not to tell him. It'd have its perks, because I could ask him to come with me when I have to run errands that normally my parents do and I don't like to do on my own. But I know him well and it'd be pressure, pressure, pressure, pressure, pressure for me to spend the nights together at his place or mine. Every day and night...and when I wouldn't give in, he'd give me the guilt trip: imagine how cozy we'd be right now... (that doesn't make me feel guilty, really, just annoyed at how corny it sounds).

I probably have nothing to fear. Nothing would happen in my house if every two or three days I slept at his house...would it? I fear so. And I fear that if I brought him to my house someone -a neighbor or a neighborhood watchman- might tell my dad. I tend to think whoever witnessed this, would think it's none of their bussiness, but you never know. And yeah, ok, I care what others might think. The watchmen inevitably would notice, as they're always standing outside my house at night, waiting for me to arrive safely (they're very kind in that sense). I imagine it'd look...well, "ugly", if I started to bring a man home now that my parents are abroad. The watchmen know they're abroad, and so they'll be even more careful looking after my house and what's inside.

So, in a nutshell...why will I not tell Joseph that I'll be home alone for an entire month? Because of my Super Ego.

By the way, our nice housekeeper left. Just like her sister, she got a call from her boyfriend and the possibility to migrate to the USA. I really miss her, she was nice. All of our housekeepers leave us for one reason: men. They leave saying they wish they could stay, but there's that old-fashioned idea that they have to subordinate their vital project to the male. That's why Rose left...but, she's back. Since we were housekeeperless, we contacted her husband (yes, we had to negotiate with him) and he was more than glad to allow her (yuck) to come work with us this month. We're in good terms with this man and he appreciates us...and regardless, he's done us a few favors in the past. Rose worked here for 8 or 9 years, so she knows everything about the house and can be trusted 100%. It's better than having a stranger while my parents are away.

I gotta get to bed, it'll be a long day tomorrow. Mall, airport, university, thesis meeting, patient. Good night.

[EDIT: oh, hey. There's a place in California called San Simeon. I shall build my house there, right, Simeon?)

prev / next