The failure of the cat and the laptop.
Wednesday, 10/01/08 - 4:43 pm.

My laptop's OS turned out to be corrupted today. I'm praying my files can be saved. I make backup copies regularly, every week or so, but having been so busy lately, I let three or four weeks pass by. It's not much, but it's important: pictures, short stories, a couple of cartoons and a record of the money I'm owed for the translations I'm making (luckily, I didn't have any documents pending right now).

I looked up this Windows failure and it might not be a big deal. If it wasn't so bad, I'd only need to use the CD to reboot. However, I took it to the tech guy to rule out any hardware problems, as it was a possibility. In case it's serious, I'm looking into buying a new one. It'll be painful for my finances and I hate Vista, but I need it. We'll see, though. My most inmediate concern is having to do the friday post of my cartoon site all over again.

Right now I'm at Joseph's; he's sleeping and his place is so student-unfriendly. The lighting is poor, there's not a desktop to sit at ...there is one, actually, but that's where his laptop is. But it's a desktop for a PC so also using this laptop is a pain. I'm sitting on an ergonomic chair that's the least ergonomic, all bent backwards like it's made for laying down.

Why am I here? Because his cat, Waffles, got stuck on razor wire and her guts came out. She was going to be put asleep but the vet decided to give it a shot. Now she's home, alive and with stitches all over her belly. So I came to his house to keep them company. I do resent that Joseph's never been there for me for moments like this one (say, when Frog was put asleep) so I'm a little hurt. I came here because I care about him and Waffles, but suddenly I got moody. After a soul-searching moment, I realized it was because it's never been the other way around.

To wrap this entry up, I must say I'm shocked to find out that a nice, lovely girl who graduated high school with me is expecting her first child, with her boyfriend of about 10 years.

Damn, Joseph's up.

prev / next