And still he jokes: "she's never late, she just deletes all of your information".
Tuesday, 10/07/08 - 9:52 pm.

Imagine your boss asks you to back up all of his information in his computer, three years worth of intellectual work. You do so and then, as he told you, go on to delete everything. The next morning, he calls you and says that his USB memory is empty. Not a single file you saved is there. And then you think, hey, neither it is in the old computer, because I already deleted everything.

That happened to me today. I was dying and I didn't even say sorry because I knew it was useless. He called me calmly, though, bless his philosophy of life for keeping him from beating me up. I mean, he's very rational and mature and said he wasn't mad at me because he knew it was a mistake; his rational ways can be seen when he presents arguments for every idea, so yes, I am convinced he isn't mad at me. He was, however, about to freak out. For instance, the latest updates of his doctorate thesis are there, lalalala.

I was told the files can still be saved, as long as the hard drive hasn't been formatted. He was told the same thing. We'll see tomorrow, but please, please, please, let all of his files be saved, or I'll need therapy for the rest of my life to cope with the guilt.

Opposite to these terrible news, he's applied for a major project and, of course, he's taken me into consideration. It'd be like a job for a couple of months, assuming he gets it. It'd be on top of me being an instructor, a therapist and a translator.

(I'm closing one case in two weeks. My first succesful case. The one of the girl who was raped and all. Truthfully, the rape, while a significant event, was not the focus of the therapy; it happened long ago and by the time she started with me, all she need regarding that was closure. We've reached the therapeutic goals and she's ready to live to the fullest. She was so happy when I told her).

And you know, aside from the translation job, all my activities came along thanks to W., my boss (and aside from throwing them my way, he tends to be my advisor). My rational-thinking boss who didn't feel the need to forgive me because there's no hard feelings to begin with. I owe him so much. Please, please, please, let his files be recovered.

prev / next