The story that ends up with a baby.
Tuesday, 12/30/08 - 7:21 pm.

Well, my PC is back up and running, but now the wireless connection isn't working. I've spent almost two hours trying to figure it out and we ended up calling someone to come and check it up tomorrow. I'm sure we'll pay a lot over a very stupid detail I must have missed. But hey, I could be wrong.

Yesterday I went to see a high school friend who just gave birth to a beautiful baby girl. Long story: I saw a married couple, friend of Joseph's, the day I graduated; they were having a baby; I bought them a present; Joseph is AFK in my life; I had a spare present and I learned she and her boyfriend, a school friend of mine too, were expecting.

That's not all. My friend Mikey asked me to get her address. I asked her and I had it. I thought of going over to drop the present at her house, a quick visit. My parents took me, we got lost and when I found the house, I knocked and knocked and no one opened the door. So I decided to send the gift by mail. It was returned days later, the address was not "enough". What the hell, man.

So I thought, ok, it's not meant to be. Around christmas, she leaves me a message saying the baby was asking her when I'd come over and carry her. So I told myself this time I'd find the house. I asked her for references and realized I'd been knocking at the wrong house.

Like I said, I went yesterday. I didn't have trouble finding the house. And everything made sense. Had I found her house when I was with my parents I wouldn't have stayed with her for almost two hours, like I did. I was so happy to see her. She's one of the sweetest girls I've ever met. She introduced me to her daughter, what a gorgeous thing.

Her mom made coffee and we just caught up. I was jealous, in the sense that she's living a full grown-up life, living with her now-husband and her child (it's her parents house but they live abroad...still). It hit particularly close because I've been thinking a lot about that lately. After a while, though, I realized not everything is peachy. They have a lot of struggles to face, struggles I have only imagined, because I'm living comfortably with my parents. Still: with adult superpowers come adult responsabilities, as it was said in Spiderman....sort of. And I want to be an adult. I don't want to depend on my parents anymore.

I really want to see her again, and she did invite me. It was heartwarming, to put it with a strange adjective. Maybe next time I'll see her husband. I haven't see him in years. I still can't picture him as a dad.

This visit gave me hope: see, all the things seemed unfit; try after try with that gift, and in the end, at the right moment, they worked out for the best. I did not expect this result, only because I'd lost hope, but it was what I was going for since the beggining. Oh, you know who I'm talking about.

I'm taking my parents to the movies tonight so I'll be leaving now.

Would it be totally lame that I hoped for Joseph to show up at my house tomorrow night? It would be. It is. But...please? Please, please, please?

prev / next