They're not signals, they're isolated facts.
Sunday, 03/01/09 - 9:57 pm.

March's had a good start. I have curly hair and I'll try my best not to cry over Joseph anymore. This february has been the longest month of my life, with bad things (like Joseph getting married) and good things (my first serious salary!). I don't think there has been a period in my life in which everything has been wrong. There's always good stuff to compensate, and for that I'm really thankful.

So! This morning I decided to go to the movies by myself again. I went to see he's just not that into you, and as Green Kiwis predicted, I loved it. It had so many stories, and yeah, right now my happy ending is moving on. I had tears on a few scenes, but I also disliked seeing how irrational us females can be. However, I related more to the guy's point of view, which was a relief. CR and I have a relationship like Alex and Gigi, minus the falling in love. He's a pal I can run to when I'm tempted to be irrational.

The movie was great, the cappuccino I bought to go with it was awesome. And they had Watchmen stuff in the movie theater, that's a huge plus (no trailer yet, though). This movie is coming out this week, I can't fucking wait. I'm just hoping there won't be a huge opening at midnight, because I want to go and Joseph will DEFINITELY go with his Mrs Smith. I suppose I'd take the blow...be strong and shit. Whatever.

Anyway! After the movie, I met up with CR, at about 4 pm. We went to a park up in the hills where the rich live and two friends of his joined us. I'd met them before, they're cool girls (they're sisters) and I'm off to start a nice frienship with them. They seem to like me too. We chilled in the park until they decided to go for beer. They drove in their car and CR and I in mine, but the place was closed. We decided to go somewhere else but there was an accident and the street was closed. We got stuck in a traffic jam and they had things to do stuff at home, anyway, so they left early.

By then it was 6:30. CR had called Al when we first met up, but he was just waking up and although he'd said he'd join too, he never showed up. So my dissapointment was starting to sink in when CR told me to go back and drop him off somewhere so he could get home. I suggested a couple of times that I could drop him off at Al's house if they were going to meet each other, but nothing was clear.

And something occured to me: invite the boys for dinner. That way, I could see Al, and even go to his house. I called home to let them know I'd be eating out (dad "informed" me that I'd been out since 2 pm, but hey, whatever can he say or do now?). Al lives really far away, in one of those private neighborhoods for very wealthy people. Those houses are worth a million dollars. No, really, one million dollars and up. And in the driveway there were five cars.

CR called him and when we got there, he was outside and I think something was going on in his house with his parents. For a while he seemed uncomfortable but he said he needed to leave the house, because he'd been in there all day.

I sat on the hood of my car while he went to put on shoes. When he got back, he asked if we wanted to come in and say hi to his parents. Me? Never. How embarrasing. He asked again if we wanted to come in and I don't remember what I did, something like I was telling CR to come in himself. Al must've found it cute/funny because he laughed and gave me a pat on my leg, a "you're a riot", kind of pat (even though I'm pretty sure he doesn't find me quite a riot in general)...no, it was more like he grabbed my knee with both hands, for half a second. Fireworks, fireworks in my head.

So he got in my car as my copilot, while CR took to the back seat (thankyou, thankyou, thankyou). So he was telling me where to turn and stuff to get to the place where we were grabbing a bite. Now, there's a stop sign, he said. I made fun of him and told him he should teach CR how to give me directions, because he was even reading the signs for me.

We got there, we ate. I paid. They've paid for food and drinks lately (like the marshmallow clown popsicle Al got me last sunday). It wasn't expensive at all and I'd been wanting to do it. Plus, the boys have their pockets empty for the time being. Rough times, you know.

We got back to his house and we stayed outside for a while. The sky looks awesome, since the house is like in the country. He asked me for my cell phone number...fireworks, fireworks again. Now, I know there's no reason why he'd call me, but the gesture alone makes my heart shriek, however physically impossible that is.

Then I left, a little sooner than I would have wanted because a stupid car couldn't go through the street. I'd parked my car near another one, that apparently belonged to his family, was huge and had two bodyguards around it (I'm telling you, his family is wealthy). I moved it and while I was hooking up my CD player, he knocked on my window and made sure I knew how to get back. Also, he reached in and turned on my car lights. Is it odd that I was turned on by this?

See, this is where I get like the chick from He's not that into you and start putting together details and make them look like "signals" to conclude that he likes me. I wonder if this thing of filling in the gaps after one or two "signals" has a biological basis or simply us girls are raised this way. In reality, his girlfriend was brought up a couple of times in the conversation, to begin with. Well, I'll be content with having a friendship with him. I've been able to control my thoughts so I feel ok. He's a nice guy, a crush indeed, but that's about it.

Back to work tomorrow. I can't complain.

prev / next