Dissapointing but good enough (not just the movie).
Sunday, 03/08/09 - 10:39 am.

Finally, I got to see Watchmen last night. CR had called Al (of course) and those two sisters that are friends with both of them. It was neat that Al was sitting next to me at the movie theater...it was fluke, really. For a while it seemed he wasn't going to make it to the movie.

Ok, the movie: CR, Al and I, having read the comic, were dissaponted and we discussed it at lenght [no spoilers ahead]. We were happy about the movie being made, it was worth the ticket, but there were many gaps in the story and I know that if I haven't read it, I would've ended up confused (dude, why is the Comedian crying, anyway?). The two major mistakes revolve around Ozymandias' character and the final twist that's not supposed to go like that, because then it makes no sense and the real purpose/meaning is lost. But yeah, of course many things get lost in translation, from paper to film. The latter is bloodier. With an awful soundtrack.

After the movie, we went to a bar, per request of girl #2. I like girl #1, she's very nice and we may go to the movies someday. But her sister is a drag, man. The first time I met her, I liked her. Next time, she was whining non-stop; I thought, ok, she's having a bad day. But last night, she walked out of the theater because there was blood and she doesn't like that; when we met up with her afterwards, she'd been crying. And then she suggested the bar far away from where we were (coincidentally, near my house) and 15 minutes after we arrive and make an order, she and her sister leave. I hadn't seen CR so pissed off. Apparently this girl is always like this. She annoys me, yes.

You know how sometimes you see certain signals coming from a boy that make you go "this guy may like me"? I didn't see any of those from Al. He doesn't have the slightest interest in me. I mean, he's nice to me, but who isn't? We couldn't reach him last night to go see the movie because he was fucking. And his on-and-off girlfriend was brought up last night, too. I have no hope. I'm not dying over this, but it's a shame. He's a little awesome.

Anyway, the bar was lame, but we stayed there. There was a lousy guy singing lousy songs too loudly, but the onion rings were good. They ordered beers, I had a soda. CR was still upset about the shit girl #2 pulls off and I suppose that's the way Joseph got upset whenever I had to leave early. I pretty much don't think about this anymore, but I'm sorry I let Joseph down. I'm guessing he was in dissapointed in the movie, too, especially because Ozzy is his favorite and you never get to know who he really is.

We left the bar after midnight, and they invited me to sit in Al's car while they smoked pot. I guess one of the reasons I'm not cool enough for Al is that I don't drink beer or smoke (he doesn't smoke cigarrettes, just weed). I mean, not that he might care on a conscious level but I believe, seeing myself from the outside, that is kind of unfun when you're doing something pleasant and the other person isn't. "When in Rome...", as the saying goes. He's very respectful, and last night when he passed me the ganja he apologized, as it's something he does automatically (pass it onto the next person). I don't like beer and I'm not even tempted to smoke marijuana. But if I'm not doing it, it's like I'm not one of them.

So, I suppose he's just going to be an occassional friend who may or may not show up. CR said so, if one day you get to hang out with Al without me, be aware of this. I show up late...he doesn't even show up sometimes, and doesn't even call to let you know. Ok, ok. Something else to watch out for.

My parents were supposed to be out of town and come back tomorrow but their plan fell through. Dammit. Regardless, I'll try to meet up with a tattoo artist today.

prev / next