Your mad matchmaking skills won't work if the match isn't interested.
Sunday, 03/08/09 - 9:12 pm.

Well, this was a lovely afternoon. I didn't meet with the tattoo artist, because he wasn't picking up the phone, but I hung out with CR. Only with him.

We went to a juice parlor, it's a small, pretty place. We kept talking Watchmen, until I spilled my juice on his pants. Well, it wasn't *me*, because we were both moving the table, but still. So we drove to his grandmother's house, that was closer than his house, so he could change. Then we headed to that fancy park we seem to head to every sunday. He called Al but he was sleeping (at 4 pm, man) and he passed on the invitation. So it was just the two of us.

It was a very interesting conversation, about love. However, he said a lot of things about women that were true...behaviors that have made us earn the title of "complicated". I hate that, but I can't really deny that those behaviors happen. I hurt Joseph many times, more than I'd like to accept; of course with no intention. I try to be different now, and I think I've changed a little... and if this is my essence, I'm going to deny it. But CR says guys are stupid too, and also, they love us women the same.

He's seeing someone right now, but he never calls his girls "girlfriends". He says it's less traumatic and will only call girlfriend the girl he's to marry. He's had his share of suffering with women. And seriously, there are some that give my kind a bad name. I hope he finds someone worth his time. CR is a great guy and he deserves a good person. He says the same about me. Except, as he told me the first night we went out, I have to build my castle and wait for the prince to come around.

After the park, we drove to his place. We'd been talking about Joseph, and I told him that I'm a better person because he left me, and that he (CR) was one of the best things I inherited from him. Seriously, he's become my best friend. We talk just about anything and I like hanging out with him.

Anyway, I took him home. He lives in a nice neighborhood, in an apartment. I didn't go to his building, we walked up a hill nearby to enjoy the view. You can see the whole city from there. It's a pretty place.

Here, I will make a pause and rewind to the park, to a part of our conversation in which we were talking about finding someone (for him and for me). We were talking about Fer, our deceased friend, about him liking me. He was upset when I hooked up with Joseph, but I never knew he liked me, until Angie and Joseph himself told me later. Anyway, we were talking about candidates and CR asks me, casually, if I liked, for instance, Al. My brain went "quick, quick, casual response!". I replied he was nice but I had the feeling he got bored with me.

Fast forward to us in the car, when CR says: I think you and Al would make a great couple. And you know what I said? "He's cute but...". He's cute, that was the last nail on my coffin. CR said he'd explore how he is with his on-and-off girlfriend and I said, no, no, no, I don't want to get involved between two people that are each other's first love. And it's true. Let it go, man.

CR said I do not get Al bored. He hinted that Al's "not indifferent" to me, and he doesn't want to be with her anymore. But I think he's just playing matchmaker again. I mean, we called him today and he passed because he was sleeping. If I liked a guy and I was invited to hang out with him, I'd get out of bed (especially considering it's 4 pm) and go. Man, I hope CR doesn't do something stupid. Well...he's very smart, so I doubt he'd do anything remotely stupid per se, but I hope...I don't know what I hope. I'm ok with having him as a friend...alright, I'm not quite there yet, but I will be.

And that's all for today. I had a nice weekend and I'm ready to go to work tomorrow! Except for the Board of Directors meeting on thursday. I gotta feed the bosses and that's such a drag.

prev / next