Family and election day.
Sunday, 03/15/09 - 6:04 pm.

I've spent the weekend with my family. It's been great, especially hanging out with my baby nephew (nephew #3), who's incredibly smart. Last night, he was standing at the table and he had an empty glass and a bottle of water in front of him. He grabbed the bottle and poured the water in the glass. Not to mention his vocabulary (it's mostly sounds or incomplete words, but he has a sound for everything), the songs he knows and babbles and how quickly he learns new words. He learned four yesterday, and four names of family members.

So today it's been presidential election day. I went to vote with my parents and my two brothers from Houston. Well, Brother #1 was just there for moral support, he doesn't have an ID. If there wasn't so much cheating and intolerance and a campaign of lies and fear, I'd enjoy election day entirely. It's pretty neat, actually. I'm not a crowd person, but it's great to go out and see the spirit, regardless of who people are voting for. Me, I'm sticking to Albert Einstein's saying, if you want things to be different, don't do the same thing over and over.

I'm nervous about the result. I'm hoping for the best, but, for instance, in the place where my mom was voting, a bunch of people from other countries had been caught voting with fake IDs. My dad being a journalist and Brother #2 a doctor who got very involved in the political scene years ago, they get news on what's going on, news that most of the mass media won't mention, and that should be considered worth mentioning.

Anyway...it's a matter of waiting, I guess. And hoping things won't get ugly.

On lighter news, I got my Watchmen comic and an awesome Sony Walkman; I ordered them online and my Brother #1 brought them. Also, being so busy with my family and politics, I haven't felt so bad that I didn't get to hang out with CR and Al this weekend. Maybe after this week we can resume our meetings. Now I'm convinced nothing will happen with Al, and yeah, whatever.

It surprised me, though, that yesterday I saw a car similar to one owned by Joseph's family, and I felt really sad. I couldn't help but wonder who his wife voted for, if she did. Joseph hates the leftist candidate.

So, until tomorrow, or later. Things are heating up. I'm crossing my fingers for a twist in history.

prev / next