A memo for my family: tattoo and interview.
Wednesday, 05/06/09 - 10:21 pm.

I GOT PRE-SELECTED FOR THE SCHOLARSHIP!!! I have an interview on tuesday at 10 am, which means I need to take time off from work. I still don't know how to break the news to my bosses, I'm guessing I'll do it on friday.

So now that I had that piece of information, I proceeded to fire an e-mail to my family, about my tattoos and the interview. Perfect timing for both things to happen. Comments I got:

Dad congratulated me on the interview and ignored the tattoo part.

Mom said she respected my decision but was sad that I couldn't appreciate what God, my parents and Mother Nature gave me.

Brother #1 said he respected my decision but didn't share it, and was especially upset that my nephew and niece have always looked up to me and I influence them, and soon he'll be dealing with them trying to convince him that at 16, 17, 18, they're old enough to get inked because it's "cool" (of all issues, this one is actually bothering me...it won't stop me, but I'm sorry, because it's true that they still take cues from me).

Sister In Law #1 said I'm an adult and it was like "yay for you".

Sister hasn't replied but she knows and she seemed ok with it. She said I should do what makes me happy.

Brother #2 and SIL #2 have not replied. I think his reply will be similar to #1.

Brother #3 and SIL #3 were very, very supportive. He's known for a while of my idea and his wife said she liked tattoos.

And that's it. I was expecting a lecture from my parents when I came back from work but they didn't say a word on the subject. Later days, maybe? Or never? Expecting the right time? There's nothing to say, anyway. I made very clear that me having tattoos was a fact. Perhaps they cried a lot when I wasn't home.

So, let's change subject for now.

Today I walked to work, from work, to the supermarket, to my cousin's house and to a pizza place to have dinner with cousin Mario, his brother and another cousin with her husband, both from Canada. I walked a lot today, which just proves I live in a nice area where most services are within walking distance. Also, I spoke english with my cousins, and I like my cousin's husband, he's really nice and funny. My cousin from Canada said I speak very well. Oh, yay.

I haven't thought about Joseph until now, since yesterday. Except for once, when this morning I said "I haven't thought about Joseph until now, since yesterday". Well, you see, I'm ok. Things are looking up.

One more thing: I miss Art. He's having stupid shifts at night, so last night and tonight I haven't talked to him; by the time he comes online, it's midnight here and yeah, I need to rest. I have talked to him while I'm at work, but it's not the same. Today I opened a drawer and I found his high school picture. That's like 150 pounds ago. He's 95% sure he'll come in august. I want to see him so bad and kiss him until my lips hurt.

But since he won't come online, I'll go to bed early. But first, I have to gather all my documents for the interview. Man, I hope I'm not missing anything. Wish me luck.

prev / next