I'm happy just to dance with you.
Thursday, 11/26/09 - 3:09 pm.

I never thought I'd learn to dance, you know? No, wait...I never thought I would learn to be careless about dancing. I like to dance. In my bedroom, alone. I don't dance in public. In fact, I've only been to two real parties and I was 15 at the time. I spent them sitting at the table.

But fear no more! JC and I watched some dancing tutorials on YouTube last night and we rehearsed a little. Aside from being an awesome experience in which we didn't take our hands off of each other, we learned to not give a damn if we can't dance. JC seemed embarrassed at first, but I don't know why, he knows how to move. And now we know how to twist and turn and whatnot. Dancing is so fun! Even if I suck at it!

Hours earlier, he was waiting for me outside my workplace. He looked cute sitting on the curb waiting for me, but the sucker should've called to let me know he was outside, because I'd been sitting on my desk waiting for him. He was in the neighborhood working on some final papers at a classmate's house and I was going to my drum lessons, near his house, so I gave him a ride. He got me a cookie and I got him juice.

When I got back to his house after my lessons, I found him cooking dinner for me...and I cannot find enough words to describe how I felt about him when I discovered that. He made me quesadillas. And then he taught me how to dance. There was a lot of touching and holding involved and we were *thisclose* to kissing at some point. When we said goodbye he was leaning on my car and we hugged for a long time. I moved slowly to emphasize the moment my face was against his as I pulled away, but nothing happened. He half-smiled and said "good night".

It's very frustrating but I understand. Kissing would change things and it's too soon after his break-up. And what the hell, we still have everything else.

Anyway, dancing was good exercise, too, and I woke up a little sore (my drum practice contributed, because I was on fire yesterday!). It's so, so awesome dancing with him and he says the same about me. I don't want to do this with anybody else and I can't wait until saturday night. I already chose my dress and happily discovered that I can dance with high heels on after all. Now I just have to figure out how to do his hair and work out both our schedules so we can go buy the present for the party boy. Saturday will be nuts for me: breakfast with my uncle, patient, my friend Mo's baby's birthday lunch, shopping and graduation party at night. And tomorrow he and I are having pizza for lunch.

Truthfully, this guy brightens my life.

prev / next