Dude...seriously?!
Monday, 01.04.10 - 9:48 pm.

I LOVE having a part-time job. My sad job as an executive assistant receptionist is not full time anymore, so while economically I may be in shambles, my mental health has improved significantly. I get to get out at noon. I could cry just for being out in the afternoon sun, and today was such a beautiful day to be outside.

I used my new-found spare time today to pay some bills and get my birth certificate to update my ID...and also added a little fun by meeting with my friend Michelle, who's visiting from Sweden, for coffee and girly chat. I was even a Goody-Two-Shoes and paid my office's phone bill (we cut off 50% of our staff, so the errand-running guy is gone). I got into the task by accident, indeed by being Goody-Two-Shoes, but whenever I felt annoyed by it I'd say to myself, "this beats sitting the day away at a desk in reception"* and boom, things would instantly get better.

* Last year, my motto was "this beats sitting at home feeling sorry for myself". I feel like I've gone up one level. Yay.

Anyway, I was just coming to talk about something very silly: JC poked me on Facebook. Dude, SERIOUSLY?! I write you a honest letter telling you I'm heartbroken because I was just a rebound for you and you POKE ME ON FACEBOOK?

Here's the thing:
1) It made me laugh. It's childish. It's absurd.
2) It's making my stomach hurt. First, because he finally gave me a sign that he's alive...although I'm also thinking of the possibility that it was a mass action; and if he wanted to "get in touch with me", why not write me a fucking reply to my stupid question: "where and when can I see you to give you the souvenirs?"?! Jeez! Second, in spite of all my so-far-succesful cognitive efforts, it made me hopeful.

Die, hope, DIE!

prev / next