Consider it my Lost Weekend.
Sunday, 05.09.10 - 7:52 pm.

I suppose I forgot it was Lighthouse who I was dealing with. See, I was hoping today we could meet up with him and hang out at the recording studio while his band rehearsed, like we did last sunday; he said we would. I met up with CR this afternoon and we tried to contact him but he never picked up the phone. I am not dissapointed, though. Like I said, that's how Lighthouse works. He will show up again one day and we'll hang out.

Instead, it was just CR and I today. I took him to have a beer or two, then we went to my friend Monica's boyfriend's coffeehouse and I claimed a free cappuccino, because I'm a frequent costumer. Yayness. The barista knows my name and is very nice.

I went there yesterday, too. I was at the psych clinic in the morning (and got paid!) and I got a phone call from my friend Emilio. Both of us write in a collective blog, along with six other people (one writes each day, and there's a spare writer just in case; I'm Saturday). See, two kids used our collective blog as their thesis subject. We granted our permission, thinking that they'd analyze our interactions and content. That they'd present it as an academical approach on social media.

Instead, it's just their opinion of each of us based on a few entries from our blogs. Don't get me wrong; the moment we hit "publish", we put ourselves out there to be judged and for people to form an opinion about us, an opinion that won't always be flattering. We're used to that, we've been writing for years and we're comfortable in our skin. But it's different when it's any given reader than when it's two supposed media professionals. They had zero ethics when working with us as subjects. And the "analysis" was hands down shallow.

Now, it turns out my friend Victor1 is insecure and aims desperately for external approval; my friend Ana is a pussy geek; my friend Virginia is a rough one but deep down she's femenine and in need of a male; Emilio is god, etc. (I won't mention the rest, I'm not that close to them...but they're wonderful people and they were labeled as well). Me, I have multiple personality disorder because I have a few blogs and my Simeon webcomic has a lot of characters that *are* my personalities. And that was their thesis.

Anywho. In the afternoon, Virginia and I attended the Narrative workshop and while being there, we texted our fellow bloggers for an urgent meeting. The ones mentioned above went to the coffeehouse, Ana was on Skype from Mexico. We let it all out but it was mostly laughter, because let's face it, it's hilarious. What may not be hilarious is that our real, complete names are given out in the thesis. We don't know, so we're just waiting to read the paper and see what to do next.

After the coffeehouse (even the barista guy was in stitches behind the counter, listening to our conversation), Virginia, Victor1 and I went for pizza and I drove them home. I came home at nearly 10 pm.

Back to the coffeehouse, and sorry I'm all over the place. I was talking about being with CR today: we talked about Joseph, but in vague terms. In a nutshell: I need someone like him in my life, but it's not him; not everything is my fault, he had his failures; I have to give him some credit for the person I am now; and...I dodged a bullet and saved myself a lot of agony.

I am coming to terms with the fact that he's not coming back to my life. That tomorrow is Mother's Day and he has a mother-of-his-child to celebrate lovingly with. And I don't want to talk about it right now. But I'm getting better.

Things to look forward to: Carolyn, an american girl I met through my job when she came and volunteered for us, contacted me asking me to meet up with a friend of hers that's coming to the country for a few days. It'll be great to meet this girl.

Also, tomorrow I'm meeting with two kids (they're less than 20, I think) who are down for turning my Simeon drawings into animation. How fucking cool is that, man? I remember I used to promise Simeon that one day he'd be famous. Lately I've felt like people are getting more and more into the comic strip and it's so awesome.

Maybe I wasn't too dissapointed on not meeting with Lighthouse because I have built a new social network beyond him and CR. Joseph used to tell me that after I was done with my career, I should take a sabbatical. Well, here I am, Joseph. Growing up and having fun. It's a shame you chose to miss all this. This is yours, too.

prev / next