He's just a dream now. Aerosmith, on the other hand...
Wednesday, 05.26.10 - 7:18 pm.

I went out with my best friend Victoria last night. She called me and asked me if I was busy. I was lazy and tried to get out of it but then I said, "carpe diem. This good woman here is asking you to hang out. Go out, have fun!". It did take all my might to get up, though: I had just had dinner and was about to spend the night doing nothing.

Also, I'd worked full time yesterday so I was pretty tired. I'm making up for my time in Costa Rica next week and I have to work three afternoons. I'll work the whole day tomorrow again. And while we're on this topic: I HAVE MY BUS TICKET AND HOTEL VOUCHERS!!!!!!!!! I just need to pack my bags and I'm off to Costa Rica to see Aerosmith!!!! Oh, Lord, oh, Lord, oh, Lord! The trip is going to kill me:

May 30th
- Be at the bus station at 2:15 am (!!!).
- Arrive to Costa Rica at 11 pm.

June 1st
- In the morning, I meet up at the hotel lobby with the guy who has my ticket. Hopefully he'll win tickets in a contest and will come along.
- At 1:30 pm I will be taken to the concert.
- 8 pm: HOLY SHIT, IT'S AEROSMITH!!!
- ???: I'm picked up at venue to be taken to the hotel.

June 2nd
- Be picked up at 1:45 am, to be taken from the hotel to the bus station.
- 11 pm: I arrive home.

Like I said, it'll kill me. But only after I've returned. I'm so, so, happy and excited.

But I digress.

Victoria and I went to a coffee-bar I like very much. She had a sandwich, I had a latte. I just love having a conversation with her. It turned out she'd had a nasty episode with her family and needed to vent. Right then I was glad I got over my laziness. She needed me.

We were there for a long time, so we had the chance to talk about other things. We reflect a lot on the moment we're living. We are working hard to get by, in a terrible-paying, unfulfilling job, applying to scholarships (to be fair, I'm in far less trouble than she is). We think of people we know who just have everything so easy, and it's discouraging, because for one reason or another, they didn't earn it, it just fell on their lap. We are learning lessons in this phase of our life, but they'll only be worth it if we get to apply them (finally getting what we want...so we can appreciate it and know we worked hard and worked patiently for that to come).

About this, PS: I got an e-mail for a scholarship I had applied to in Spain. "We're sorry to inform you..." bla, bla, bla. Take it off the list of hopes, at least for this year. But that wasn't my strongest bet.

We talked about Joseph, too. Which is perhaps why I dreamed of him. AGAIN. This time he comes into my bedroom, dressed in my school's uniform (for boys, of course), and informs me proudly that he's going to finish high school. We spent the dream talking in my bed. At one point he leaned over and tried to kiss me but I refused and asked him about his wife. He just said, "oh, she's hysterical!" (not funny-hysterical, unbereable-hysterical).

And that is all about him.

On a very sad note, six years ago, my friend Ern was killed. You are remembered, man.

prev / next